IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana State Personnel Department

SPD > Benefits > Eligibility > Eligibility requirements to enroll Eligibility requirements to enroll

All active full-time employees and elected or appointed officials are eligible to participate.  For the purpose of benefits eligibility, full-time employees are defined as active employees whose regular work schedule is at least 37.5 hours per week.  The following employees are not eligible for insurance: those whose regular work schedule is less than 37.5 hours per week and those appointed to intermittent or temporary positions.

Dependents of eligible employees may be covered under the State’s benefit plans. In order for dependents to be covered, the employee must be covered. Dependents are defined as:

Spouse:  A member of the opposite sex to whom you are legally married.  IC 31-11-1-1(b) provides: A marriage between persons of the same gender is void in Indiana even if the marriage is lawful in the place where it is solemnized. IC 31-11-8-5 provides: a marriage is void if the marriage is a common law marriage that was entered into after Jan. 1, 1958.  Employees are not allowed to claim dependents based on common law marriages.  An ex-spouse is not eligible for coverage even if court ordered.  

Children: Natural-, step-, foster, or legally adopted children; children who reside in the employee's home for whom the employee or spouse has been appointed legal guardian or awarded legal custody by a court, under the age of 26.

Age limitation: Dependent children are eligible for coverage until their 26th birthday.

If the dependent child is both incapable of self-sustaining employment by reason of mental or physical disability and is chiefly dependent upon the employee for support and maintenance prior to age 19, the dependent child’s coverage shall continue if satisfactory evidence of such disability and dependency is received within 120 days after child’s 26th birthday. Coverage for the dependent will continue until the employee discontinues his coverage or the disability no longer exists.

A dependent child of the employee who attained age 26 while covered under another health care policy and met the disability criteria specified above, is an eligible dependent for enrollment so long as no break in coverage longer than 63 days has occurred immediately prior to enrollment. Proof of disability prior to age 19 and proof of prior coverage will be required. The plan requires annual documentation from a physician after the child’s attainment of the limiting age.

Examples of persons NOT eligible for coverage as a dependent:

  • Ex-spouse
  • Same sex partners
  • Live-in boyfriends or girlfriends
  • Parents or parents-in-law
  • Grandchildren (unless employee is the court-appointed legal guardian or custody)
  • Adults under guardianship of employee
  • Dependents older than 26 that are not disabled
  • Any other members of your household who do not meet the definition of an eligible dependent