Rokita Distributes Voting Equipment Funds to Tipton County

Contact: AJ Freeney-Ruiz

Indianapolis, IN - Indiana Secretary of State Todd Rokita today distributed election reform money to Tipton County. This was part of the latest round of funding Rokita's office is giving to counties from the federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA) of 2002.

Tipton County received $114,000 in federal and state money which was distributed by the Secretary of State's office. This brings to $21.7 million the total distributed under HAVA to Indiana counties since Rokita's office began distributing funds to help pay for voting equipment upgrades resulting from the required phase-out of lever and punch card voting machines.

Rokita personally met with Tipton County Clerk Bonita Guffey to reimburse the county for the new MicroVote Infinity Voting System machines that will be accessible to all of Tipton County's approximately 13,000 voters in all 16 election precincts beginning with the 2006 May Primary Election. Tipton County will switch from MicroVote machines that voters have used for the past 18 years.

"It's been a long road to get to this point," said Guffey. "Secretary Rokita's office has been extremely helpful throughout this process, and we couldn't be more thankful for their help. We think our selection of voting machines was a good one. We've had MicroVote machines in the past and the voters have liked them and they are a great company to work with."

"It is great to see federal and state money being put to good use to help ensure fair and efficient elections for Hoosiers," Rokita said. "Tipton County can now focus on other election matters."

Congress passed HAVA in response to issues in various parts of the country during the 2000 Presidential Election. HAVA requires states and counties to replace all punch card and lever machine voting systems by January 1, 2006. A number of Indiana counties will be eligible for additional funding in the coming months.