Secretary of State Todd Rokita announced today that a hotline has been established

Contact: Kate Shepherd

Hotline Established to Assist Voters in the East Chicago Special Primary Election

Indianapolis, IN -- Indiana Secretary of State Todd Rokita announced today that a hotline has been established for Tuesday’s Special Primary Election in East Chicago. Voters who feel their rights may have been violated should call 219-314-0104. The hotline will be staffed, but it is possible some callers may reach a voice mail recording. They are encouraged to leave a message so an Indiana Election Commission designee may return the phone call.

Copies of the Indiana Voter’s Bill of Rights will also be posted in both English and Spanish in all East Chicago polling places. These posters were printed especially for the East Chicago Special Primary Election. The Voter’s Bill of Rights explains who can vote, outlines fail-safe procedures and details how to cast a vote by provisional ballot.

“The citizens of East Chicago will be able to look at the Voter’s Bill of Rights and easily see exactly what their rights are and what voter protections are available to them,” Rokita said. “It is my hope this will minimize problems during this Special Primary Election.”

Secretary Rokita will be in East Chicago for the election. The Secretary of State’s office is financing the entire operation for the Special Election with the understanding that the county will repay the expenditures.

The Indiana Election Commission Chairman’s agent reports the Justice Department will also have teams in East Chicago at all polling places. They will be monitoring the election to be sure that there are enough translators available for Spanish-speaking voters and there are no violations of their rights.

An audit of absentee ballots shows that 874 have been requested for the Special Primary Election. Of those ballot requests, 56 have been rejected, 87 ballots have been voted in person, 9 ballots have been voted by travelling board, 720 ballots have been voted and mailed to the Lake County Election Board, and two voted ballots have been rejected.