IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Auto Dealer Services Division

Dealer Alerts


ALERT - From the Indiana State Police

              Identity Theft Scam-Car Dealer Loan Fraud


DEALER ALERT!!! - Recent Reports

Recently the Auto Dealer Services Division has received multiple reports from dealers in the Evansville area of attempted audits by unauthorized individuals claiming to be Indiana Secretary of State Dealer Division investigators. We encourage you to check who your investigator is under the contact tab on our website at http://www.in.gov/sos/dealer/2365.htm. If you are contacted by an individual representing themselves to be with the Secretary of State’s office please email your area investigator or call 317-234-7190 to confirm the individual is actually an employee of the Secretary of State. All of the Secretary of State field investigators carry their credentials and will present them to you upon request.


DEALER ALERT - NEW RULES

New Rules - September 19, 2013

The Auto Dealer Services Division (“Division”) of the Indiana Secretary of State’s office is alerting all dealers of the new Emergency Administrative Rules.  The Division was given the authority by the Indiana General Assembly to change administrative regulations through emergency rulemaking. 

Please click here to view the Emergency Rules.

The Division will begin the process of permanently changing the Administrative Rules.  Please check the website often to keep updated on the rulemaking process and hearings that will be scheduled to allow for public comment.

Please click here to view the rulemaking calendar.

Wholesale dealers please note additional information regarding your Indiana business location and the new wholesale dealer plates. New licenses will be denied unless use and occupancy of your identified Indiana location are made clear at the time of application.


DEALER ALERT

National Criminal History Background Checks must be submitted with all NEW license applications. Indiana Code IC 9-32-16-11(d)

www.in.gov/inkless     Click on L-1 Enrollment Services Schedule

Select “Pay for Ink Card Submission

Or, call 877-472-6917 for assistance with L-1 Identity Solutions.


DEALER ALERT


OUR LAWS HAVE MOVED TO NEW CODE LOCATION AND CITATION – CLICK HERE


EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013 THE APPLICATION/ LICENSE FEE MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE APPLICATION 

New applicants must now send fee in with the application heading
Please click here to view the Application/License Fees

ADSD Main Line: 317-234-7190

Auto Dealer Services Staff

Name

 Title

Email

Elizabeth Murphy

ADSD Director/Senior Counsel

emurphy@sos.in.gov  

Noelle Sykes

ADSD Compliance Attorney

nsykes@sos.in.gov

Gary Humphries

Licensing & Certificate Manager

glhumphries@sos.in.gov

Ashley Humphries   

ADSD Senior Enforcement Attorney             

anhumphries@sos.in.gov

Don Cloud

Senior Investigator      

drcloud@sos.in.gov

 

Field Auditors

Area

Name

Phone

Northeast

Kathleen Hults

khults@sos.in.gov

Northwest

Sherri Van Hook

Svanhook@sos.in.gov

Central – West

Marilyn Fisher

mdfisher@sos.in.gov

Central – East

Teaune Trice

tatrice@sos.in.gov

Southeast             

Carol Poe               

capoe@sos.in.gov

Southwest

Luis Garza

lrgarza@sos.in.gov


Wholesale Dealer Alert

You must let us know if you choose to vacate your Indiana office location or business. In addition all plates and stickers must be promptly returned to our office. Failure to advise us and return the plates will result in the imposition of penalties. If you have a question or have already vacated your location please email us at dealers@sos.IN.gov so we can work with you to avoid a fine.