Indiana Secretary of State Todd Rokita congratulates Carmel entrepreneur on being named National Notary of the Year

June 17, 2010

Daniel C. Lewis receives recognition by the National Notary Association; also named Honorary Secretary of State

(Indianapolis) – Indiana Secretary of State Todd Rokita is pleased to announce that Daniel C. Lewis of Carmel has been named “2010 Notary of the Year” by the National Notary Association. The annual award is given by the largest professional organization of Notaries public and honors outstanding Notaries that have gone above and beyond their duties, while maintaining professionalism and integrity. 

“Daniel has demonstrated a personal commitment to Indiana by protecting Hoosiers from fraud and identity theft,” said Secretary Rokita. “He has executed best management practices to a tee while serving as a mentor and advisor to Notaries and title companies as well as our office’s Notary Division.”

Lewis has been commissioned as a Notary Public through Secretary Rokita’s office since 2003, and during that time established his own business as a Notary Signing Agent. In addition, he also teaches a course on ethics for Notaries hoping to obtain a Title Producer’s license in Indiana.

Lewis was presented with the “2010 Notary of the Year” award last night at the National Notary Association’s 32nd annual Conference in Chicago. Deputy Indiana Secretary of State Scott Bowers was on hand to present Lewis with an Honorary Secretary of State award.

A Notary public is a public officer of the state, authorized by law to certify documents, take affidavits and administer oaths. A Notary public is appointed for an eight year term after being commissioned by the Secretary of State’s office. With over 80,000 currently in service, Notaries public make up the largest single group of public officials in Indiana.

Last month, Secretary Rokita announced that his Business Services Division had launched a new online Notary portal to allow Notaries public to obtain new or renewed commissions online - reducing the cost of government and increasing speed of service.

NOTE:  Photo supplied – Deputy Indiana Secretary of State Scott Bowers (left) presents National Notary of the Year Daniel C. Lewis of Carmel with an Honorary Secretary of State award in Chicago June 16.

About the National Notary Association:

Established in 1957, the National Notary Association (NNA) is the leading professional authority on the American Notary office and is dedicated to educating, serving and advocating for the nation’s 4.8 million Notaries. The NNA imparts comprehensive Notarial knowledge and understanding, promotes a positive public perception of the Notary office, and bolsters consumer protection by promoting best practices. The Association’s accredited professional programs, services and model legislation help Notaries advance their careers and serve the American public with the highest level of professionalism and ethics.

Media Contact: Jim Gavin, 317.233.8655,