Secretary Rokita reminds voters in Dubois, Franklin, Lake, LaPorte, Marion, Perry, Porter, Ripley, St. Joseph, Wells and Hamilton Counties to prepare for upcoming special elections in Indiana

October 29, 2009

Indiana’s chief election officer reminds Hoosiers Photo ID law still to be enforced

(Indianapolis) – Indiana’s Chief Election Officer, Secretary of State Todd Rokita, is encouraging voters to participate in upcoming special elections in their area.

“Hoosiers should be encouraged by the level of local control they have over government spending,” said Secretary Rokita. “I hope those Hoosiers in counties where special elections are being held will recognize the importance of these elections, and make it a priority to participate.”

A recent ruling by the Indiana Court of Appeals regarding the state’s Voter ID law is not final at this time, and will have no impact on compliance with the law, absentee balloting procedures, or any other procedure during this special election cycle.

The following counties are required to conduct special elections on November 3, 2009:  Dubois, Franklin, Lake, LaPorte, Marion, Perry, Porter, Ripley, St. Joseph and Wells.  Hamilton County is required to conduct a special election on November 10, 2009, in certain precincts.  Polls will be open from 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. local time.

Secretary Rokita’s advice for voters includes:

1.   Visit to make sure you are registered to vote and to locate your polling place. Some polling places may have moved since the last election, and county clerks have been advised to ensure that the polling place information is current. will supply maps and directions to the polling place for each voter. If you have moved in the last 30 days, you are legally able to vote in your previous precinct.

2.   Bring an Indiana state or U.S. government-issued photo ID. The ID must:

  • Display the voter’s photo and name along with an expiration date. The expiration date must either be current or have expired at some point since the last General Election (November 4, 2008).
  • Be issued by the State of Indiana or the U.S. Government. Free photo IDs are available from the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).
  • BMV license branches in Dubois, Franklin, Lake, LaPorte, Marion, Perry, Porter, Ripley, St. Joseph and Wells counties will operate Monday, November 2, from 8:30 a.m. to 8 p.m., and on Election Day from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

3.   Consider voting during non-peak hours. The shortest lines and wait times at the polls will likely be between 9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. If you work on Election Day, inquire about possible changes to your shift or lunch schedule that would allow for you to vote during these hours.

4.   Ask a poll worker for help. Poll workers are trained to help with polling location questions, the use of voting systems, accessibility and to help voters cast a provisional ballot if absolutely necessary.

Media contact Jim Gavin: 317.233.8655 or