Students from Across Indiana join the Office of the Secretary of State

Contact: AJ Freeney-Ruiz

Students from Across Indiana join the Office of the Secretary of State

Indianapolis, IN-Today, Indiana Secretary of State Todd Rokita welcomes fourteen summer interns to his office. The office's interns come from many different educational institutions throughout Indiana, and this summer-long program allows them an opportunity to experience one of the most diverse offices in state government first-hand.

"We're excited to have these talented young individuals join our offices," Rokita said. "We hope they have an enriching educational experience this summer, and I am confident that they will all be valuable additions to our team."

Four Fellows begin rotations of each of the Secretary of State's three divisions and Executive Office. This summer's Fellows are: Justin Carter, Purdue University senior Engineering major with minors in Communications and Organizational Leadership; John Chuang, Wabash College junior Math and French double major with a minor in History; Sean Clerget, Wabash College sophomore Political Science major; and Zach Zagar, IUPUI sophomore Political Science major.

New this year is the Communications Internship. The following will work under the Communications Director: Jaclyn Chen, Carmel High School junior; Chris Hawes, Wabash College sophomore Political Science and Economics double major; and Yara Najjar, 2006 Butler graduate with a B.A. in Broadcast Journalism with minors in Print Journalism and French.

Kurtis John, an Indiana University School of Law-Indianapolis student joins the legal department for the summer.

Rokita's Indiana Investment Watch investor education program will have the assistance of Jessica Milano, a 2006 DePauw University graduate with a B.A. in Studio Art and a minor in Economics.

The Elections Division welcomes Haley O'Brian, a DePauw University junior Political Science and Art History double major. The Secretary of State's Business Services Division also has four summer additions to their department: Victoria Kramer; Liz Wiseman; Anne Keele; and Jessica Howard.

All the interns are looking forward to a fun-filled and productive summer working for the state of Indiana and Secretary of State Todd Rokita.