National Association of Secretaries of State inducts 2007-2008 Officers

Contact: Allison Fore


Indiana Secretary of State Todd Rokita  sworn in as NASS President, names new Executive  Board

Portland, OR  (July 18, 2007) –- The National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS), currently holding its annual summer meeting in Portland, Oregon, today inducted its new slate of national officers for the 2007-2008 cycle. Indiana Secretary of State Todd Rokita will serve as president of the association, which represents top state officials charged with oversight of such areas as business services and elections.

"It is an honor to represent NASS and my fellow secretaries of state," Rokita said. "I am certain the coming year will bring many opportunities for our association, and I look forward to working on behalf of our member states with the federal government and with the multitude of other organizations that benefit from our election reform, business services, securities and e-government initiatives."

Rokita has served on the NASS Executive Board in various leadership positions since 2003. In addition to serving as Chief Election Officer of the Hoosier State, Rokita oversees the state's Securities and Business Services Divisions. He also serves on the nine-member executive board of the U.S. Election Assistance Commission's (EAC) Standards Board.

Rokita leads a new slate of NASS executive officers who will oversee the association's activities for the coming year, including its direction on election administration, business services, electronic government and state-federal relations with the White House, Members of Congress and the various federal agencies.

The members of the NASS Executive Board, who will hold office through July 2008, include the following:

Hon. Todd Rokita, Indiana (President)
Hon. Deb Markowitz, Vermont (Past President)
Hon. Pedro Cortes, Pennsylvania (President-Elect)
Hon. Trey Grayson, Kentucky (Treasurer)
Hon. Betty Ireland, West Virginia (Secretary)
Hon. A. Ralph Mollis, Rhode Island (Eastern Region Vice President)
Hon. Charlie Daniels, Arkansas (Southern Region Vice President)
Hon. Terri Lynn Land, Michigan (Midwestern Region Vice President)
Hon. Ben Ysursa, Idaho (Western Regional Vice President)
Hon. Brad Johnson, Montana (Member at Large)
Hon. Bill Gardner, New Hampshire (Member at Large)

For more information, please visit