IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Rule the Road Indiana > Teen Driving Requirements Teen Driving Requirements: Did you know?



Indiana's Graduated Driver's Licensing
(GDL) Law
Requirement
Learner's Permit 15 years with Driver's Education, 16 years Without Driver's Education
Driver's Education Minimum starting age of 15 years
Permit Holding Period 180 days
Probationary License 16 years 180 days with Driver's Education; 16 years 270 days without Driver's Education
Telecommunications Restrictions Telecommunications devices (e.g. cell phones) are prohibited until the age of 18, with the exception of a 9-1-1 emergency call
Passenger Restrictions No passengers for the first 180 days unless there is another licensed driver at least 25 years old, a certified driving instructor or parent/guardian over the age of 21 in the front seat, with exceptions of child, sibling or spouse
Night time Driving Restrictions 10pm-5am-everyday for the first 180 days of holding a license; Sunday-Thursday 11pm-5am; Friday-Saturday 1am-5am until age 18, with exceptions for school, work and church-related functions.
Certified Driving Hours 50 hours of supervised driving practice, 10 of which must be at night, with a certified driving instructor or licensed driver that is at least 25 years old or the individual's spouse that is at least 21 years of age
Minimun Age with No Restrictions 18 years old