IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

PLA > Professions > Indiana Real Estate Commission > How Do I... > License Status License Status

The chart below is intended for use as a guide to understanding the varying requirements of different real estate license statuses. For more detailed questions regarding license status, please refer to Indiana licensure law.

  Description  Continuing Education Required For License Period   Salesperson License Assigned to Broker Requirement
Active   Licensee has an active license to perform real estate business, as allowed by law 16 hours  Must have license assigned to a broker or company 
Unassigned  Licensee is not assigned to a broker or company 16 hours  Does not have license assigned to broker or company 
Referral  Licensee is engaged in referral of business to an active company or broker None  Must have license assigned to a broker or company 
Inactive  Licensee is not engaged in real estate business   None  Does not have license assigned to broker or company