- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

PLA > Professions > Indiana Real Estate Commission > How Do I... > License Application License Application


What requirements must I meet to apply for a real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age, have completed a 54 hour real estate pre-licensing course, and passed the licensing examination.

Do I need a high school diploma to get a real estate license?

Currently no, but you must meet the above requirements. However, please note that effective July 1, 2014, all applicants for a new real estate license must have a high school diploma.


How long after I take the pre-licensing course do I have to pass the exam?

You must pass the examination within one year of the date on your course completion certificate.

How do I register for the exam?

Registration for the examination can be done with our exam provider, PearsonVue. You can register at

After I pass the examination how long do I have to apply for my license?

Your application for licensure must be received in our office within one year of the date of passing the examination.

License Type

Do I have to be a salesperson prior to being a broker?


Can I take the broker course before I have been licensed as a salesperson for one year?

Yes.  There previously was a requirement that you had actively practiced as a salesperson in Indiana for one year before your broker license could be issued. Effective July 1, 2012, this requirement no longer applies to applicants for a real estate broker license.

Will you issue my new license if I haven't found a broker to work for yet?

If you do not have a broker with which to affiliate, your license will be placed in an “Unassigned” status.  Once you have found a broker to be affiliated with, you may submit a reassignment form.


What states does Indiana reciprocate real estate licenses with?

Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Wisconsin.