IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

PLA > Professions > State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners  > Cosmetologists Cosmetologists

If you do not have Adobe Acrobat on your computer you may download the free Adobe Acrobat Reader at http://www.adobe.com./

REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS

All applications must be complete and accurate upon receipt to be fully processed.

All applications must be accompanied by the $40.00 application fee.

All applications must include a current and clear head-and-shoulder photo that is a minimum of 2”x3”.

All documentation must be in English or accompanied by a certified translation in English.


Cosmetologist License by Reciprocity

• Applicant must have a valid equivalent license in another jurisdiction*
• Applicant must be at least 18 years of age
• Applicant must have completed a tenth grade education or equivalent
• Applicant must provide a license certification from each jurisdiction where they hold or have held a license, regardless of license status.   Online certification is acceptable if it provides a field for possible disciplinary action.
• Applicant’s jurisdiction must require 1500 hours of education.  Indiana does not accept apprenticeship hours.** One (1) year of licensed practice may substitute for one hundred (100) hours of education to an applicant who has completed a minimum of 1000 hours of education.***
• Your jurisdiction must require at least 70% passing on both written and practical licensing exams
• For Jurisdictions outside the United States only:  Please submit high school diploma (or record of last year attended) and cosmetology school transcript.  If your original documents are in a foreign language, a certified translation in English must accompany the original documents.

* If the applicant’s jurisdiction does not issue a license to practice cosmetology, the applicant may apply for a provisional cosmetologist license (see below).

** If the applicant’s jurisdiction accepts apprenticeship hours as an option for licensure, the applicant should submit documentation showing proof of completing the education requirement; this may include a transcript from the applicant’s cosmetology school, an official certification from the original jurisdiction that indicates the applicant received 1500 hours of education from a cosmetology school, or a letter from the jurisdiction indicating that the applicant received 1500 hours of education from a cosmetology school.

*** The number of hours reflects the applicant’s state’s minimum education requirement rather than the actual number of hours that were obtained.  If the applicant completed extra hours above and beyond the state’s minimum requirement, the extra hours would not apply.

If an applicant comes from a jurisdiction that issues a cosmetologist license but does not meet Indiana’s minimum reciprocity requirements, they may transfer their hours from their original out-of-state school to a cosmetology school in Indiana.  The applicant would need to graduate from the Indiana-approved cosmetology school and then apply by examination.  Cosmetology schools may accept hours from an out-of-state schools, but are not required by the board to do so.


Cosmetologist License by Examination

• Applicant must be at least 18 years of age
• Applicant must have completed a tenth grade education or equivalent
• Applicant must have obtained 1500 hours of education and graduated within 3 years from the date of enrollment from an approved cosmetology school.  


Provisional Cosmetologist License

• Applicant’s jurisdiction does not issue a license to practice cosmetology (has only a school certificate to practice in the jurisdiction)
• Applicant must provide proof of sufficient training or experience as a cosmetologist*
• Applicant who has been granted an initial provisional license must work under the supervision of a licensed cosmetologist

* Applicant must provide proof of experience, such as proof of salon experience.  An affidavit of work experience may be used.  Applicant must submit transcript of training from a cosmetology school.  All transcripts must be accompanied by a certified translation in English.


Cosmetologists