IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

PLA > Professions > Indiana Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners > Renewal Information Renewal Information

Renewals
Veterinary Licenses and Controlled Substance Registrations (CSR) expire on October 15 of odd numbered years. 

Veterinary Technician Registrations expire on January 1 of even numbered years. 

Continuing Education
Continuing education is a requirement for renewal of veterinarians and veterinary technicians. Information and requirements are available here

Renewal Information
Renewal notices are sent approximately sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date.   Veterinarians and veterinary technicians with a valid email address on file will be emailed the renewal information.   Veterinarians and veterinary technicians that do not have a valid email address on file will be mailed renewal information.   This notice is mailed to the licensee/registrant's address of record with the Board.   

Online Renewal
You can renew your license/registration online at PLA Online Services

Renew By Mail
You may print a renewal from the Renewal Documents page. 

License/Registration Cards
The Indiana Profession Licensing Agency no longer automatically mails updated license/registration cards when your license/registration is renewed.   You can determine if your renewal has been received and processed by accessing our free
Online Verification Search.   Please allow 24 hours (1 business day) for your license/registration to be updated.  Once you verify that your license/registration has been renewed, you may order a new license card onlineYou will be given the option to download a free license registration card for immediate printing or to purchase a blue license/registration card to be mailed to you.     

Renewal Fees
Veterinary License - $100.00

Controlled Substance Registration (CSR) - $60.00

Veterinary Technician Registration - $15.00

Expired License/Registration - Penalty Fees
A veterinarian or veterinary technician may reinstate a license, registration or permit up to three (3) years after the expiration date by paying a late fee of $50.00 in addition to the renewal fee.

Veterinary License - $150.00.

Controlled Substance Registration (CSR) - $110.00

Veterinary Technician Registration - $65.00

Expired License/Registration - After Three Years
If your veterinarian or veterinary technician has been expired for three (3) years but no more than five (5) years you will need to contact our office at (317) 234-2054 or by email at pla8@pla.IN.gov to have a reinstatement application emailed to you.   You will be required to complete the following:

  • A reinstatement application. 
  • Continuing education for the time period the license has been expired.
  • A letter of work history detailing time since the expiration of your license/registration.
  • Payment of the reinstatement fee (Current renewal fee plus the current application fee). 

Upon receipt of the above items you may be scheduled to appear before the Board at their next scheduled meeting.   The Board will determine if you will need to complete such remediation and/or additional training as deemed appropriate by the Board given the lapse of time involved.

Expired License/Registration - After Five Years
A veterinarian or veterinary technician may not renew an expired license or registration after five (5) years have elapsed after the date of expiration of a license or registration.   You will be required to make application for a new license or registration and take the appropriate examinations.   

Inactive License
Information and requirements to place your license/registration on inactive status is available here.   

Failure To Renew
Failure to renew a license or registration on or before the expiration date automatically renders the license or registration invalid without any action by the Board.  You may not practice at any time on an expired license.