IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

PLA > Professions > Speech-Language Pathology Audiology Board > License Renewal Information License Renewal Information

Renewal Dates/Information

THE RENEWAL DEADLINE IS DECEMBER 31, 2013.

 

YOUR RENEWAL WILL BE E-MAILED TO THE E-MAIL ADDRESS YOU HAVE ON FILE WITH THE IPLA ON APPROXIMATELY OCTOBER 31, 2013.

 

HOW TO RENEW

OPTION #1 – RENEW ON LINE!!!!

The Professional Licensing Agency is proud to offer one of its newest services, License Express, which allows you to renew your licenses online using a Discover, Visa or MasterCard credit card or debit card on our secure server. I you would like to renew online, you may do so by returning to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency homepage and clicking on the License Express icon.

PLEASE NOTE: There are access and credit card fees associated with renewing on-line. No part of these fees come to IPLA.

OPTION #2 – RENEW VIA PAPER RENEWAL

To renew on paper, please email the Board at pla5@pla.in.gov and a renewal form will be emailed back to you.  Please note that renewing by mail may take up to 10 business days to process after the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency receives your completed renewal form.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAPER RENEWAL APPLICATIONS

Make any address or name corrections on the renewal application and submit/attach supporting documentation (i.e. Copy of marriage certificate or divorce decree) showing legal name change.

Answer all the questions (1-5) on the renewal application. If you answer “YES” to any questions(s) on the renewal application, please attach a notarized affidavit with sufficient information to explain the positive response(s).

Sign and date your renewal application.

Enclose a check or money order for the $100.00 renewal fee, made payable to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.

PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT IF ALL THE ABOVE LISTED INFORMATION IS NOT COMPLETED, YOUR RENEWAL WILL BE RETURNED TO YOU FOR COMPLETION AND YOUR RENEWAL WILL BE DELAYED.

LATE RENEWALS -- PENALTY FEES

If a renewal application is not submitted by December 31, 2011, the license automatically becomes invalid. The license may be renewed within three (3) years of the date of expiration by paying a late fee of $50.00 in addition to the normal renewal fee of $100.00, and completion of the continuing education requirement.

If your license has been expired for longer than three (3) years, you must submit the following along with your application form and fees:

- Documentation verifying 36 CEU within the last 24 months, if you have not been working in the field, then 72 total CEU are needed
- A notarized explanation of what you have been doing since expiration
- Current ASHA registration or an official transcript, proof of direct supervised clinical experience, proof of clinical fellowship, and official ETS-Praxis Series scores
- Must take and pass a written examination on the Indiana speech-language pathology statutes and rules

The renewal application must be postmarked by December 31, 2013 to avoid the payment of any late fee.

For renewal applications postmarked after December 31, 2013 a late fee will be assessed for late renewal.

Upon completion of the renewal process, your license to practice as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist will be current through December 31, 2013.

Your license and pocketcard will become VOID and a twenty ($20.00) service charge will be addressed if a non-collectible check is received.

RENEWAL OF A SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY SUPPORT PERSONNEL REGISTRATION

YOUR RENEWAL WILL BE E-MAILED TO THE  E-MAIL ADDRESS YOU HAVE ON FILE WITH THE IPLA ON APPROXIMATELY OCTOBER 31, 2012.

All support personnel registrations expire on December 31st of each year. The renewal fee for speech-language pathology support personnel is $25.00. The next renewal date is December 31, 2012.

All renewals are to be signed by the speech-language pathology aide and the licensed speech- language pathology supervisor.

In order to avoid any interruption of work activity, a registration must be renewed prior to December 31st of each year. Support Personnel may not continue working after his/her registration has expired. Any such continuation will constitute a violation. An expired registration may be renewed by paying a $50 penalty fee in addition to the normal $25 renewal fee.

Renewal applications are mailed sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date of the registration. If you do not receive your renewal application at that time, please call our office at (317) 234-2064 to receive a duplicate application. You may also reach us by email at pla5@pla.in.gov. Please be sure to give us your name, address, registration number, profession, social security number and telephone number.

CHANGE OF SUPERVISOR - If you are no longer being supervised by the speech-language pathologist listed on your application, a new application must be filed. In order to obtain a new application please go to www.in.gov/pla/speech.htm. After your new application and fee are received and approved, you will receive a new registration number.

DUPLICATE POCKETCARD - In order to receive a duplicate pocketcard, you will need to go to our Homepage and click on License Express.

QUESTIONS

If you have questions regarding your license or registration, you may contact the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency at our mailing address, via email, or by phone.

On behalf of the Board, the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency looks forward to assisting you.