IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

PLA > Professions > Indiana State Board of Dentistry > Renewal Information / Address Change / Name Change Renewal Information / Address Change / Name Change

RENEWALS
Dentists, Dental Hygienists, Controlled Substance Registrations (CSR), General Anesthesia/Deep Sedation Permits, Light Parenteral Conscious Sedation Permits, and Mobile Dental Practice Permits expire on March 1of even-numbered years. The next renewal date is March 1, 2014.

CONTINUING EDUCATION
Continuing Education is required to renew your license. Information and requirements are available here.

RENEWAL INFORMATION 
Renewal notices are sent approximately sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date.   Licensees with a valid email address on file will be emailed the renewal information.   Licensees that do not have a valid email address on file will be mailed license renewal information.  This notice is mailed to the licensee's address of record with the Board.

LICENSE EXPRESS - ONLINE RENEWAL
You can renew your license online at License Express

  • QUICK & EASY. It takes just minutes and your renewal will be processed and available for verification the next business day.
  • Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
  • Go to License Express.  Just use your license number with an "A" at the end (ex: 12099999A) as your Login ID and the last four digits of your social security number as your Password.  
  • You can update your address, email address and telephone number as part of the renewal process.   
  • Pay your renewal fee(s) by using your Visa, MasterCard or Discover credit or debit card. There are access and credit card fees associated with renewing on-line. No part of these fees come to IPLA.

RENEW BY MAIL
If you prefer to renew by mail, please contact the Dental group at (317) 234-2054 or by email at pla8@pla.in.gov to receive a printed renewal form. Please be sure to give us your name, address, telephone number and license number or social security number.

LICENSE CARDS
The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency no longer automatically mails updated license cards when your license is renewed.   You can determine if your renewal has been received and processed by accessing our free Online Verification Search.  Please allow 24 hours (1 business day) for your license to be updated.  Once you verify that your license has been renewed, you may order a new license card online at Services.IN.gov/License Express.  You will be given the option to download a free license card for immediate printing or to purchase a blue license card to be mailed to you. 

Indiana law requires those engaged in the practice of dentistry or dental hygiene to display their license where they are practicing.   Therefore you must either download the free license card or purchase an updated blue card to post.  

DISPLAY OF LICENSE
Indiana Law requires:

Dentist :  The license shall be properly displayed at all times in the office of the person named as the holder of the license, and a person may not be considered to be in legal practice if the person does not possess the license and renewal card.
Dental Hygienist:  The license to practice must be displayed at all times in plain view of the patients in the office where the holder is engaged in practice.   No person may lawfully practice dental hygiene who does not possess a license and its current renewal.                                                                
RENEWAL FEES
Dentist - $120
Dental Hygienists - $70
Controlled Substance Registration (CSR) - $60
General Anesthesia, Deep Sedation (GADS) - $50
Light Parenteral Conscious Sedation (LPCS) - $50
Dental Hygiene Local Anesthesia Permit - $25
Mobile Dental Facility - $150

EXPIRED LICENSES – PENALTY FEES
A licensee may reinstate a license, registration or permit up to three (3) years after the expiration date by paying a late fee of $50.00 each in addition to the renewal fee.

Dentist - $150
Dental Hygienists - $100
Controlled Substance Registration (CSR) - $110
General Anesthesia, Deep Sedation (GADS) - $100
Light Parenteral Conscious Sedation (LPCS) - $100
Mobile Dental Facility - $200

EXPIRED LICENSES – AFTER THREE (3) YEARS
If your dental or dental hygiene license has been expired for three (3) years or more you will need to contact our office at (317) 234-2054 or by email at pal8@pla.IN.gov to have a reinstatement application emailed to you.   You will be required to complete the following:

1.  Completion of reinstatement application.
2.  Proof of continuing education for the time period the license has been expired.
3.  Payment of a Reinstatement Fee (Current renewal fee plus the current application fee)

Upon receipt of the above items you will be scheduled to appear before the Board at their next scheduled meeting.  The Board will determine if you will need to complete such remediation and/or additional training as deemed appropriate by the Board given the lapse of time involved.  

FAILURE TO RENEW
Failure to renew a license on or before the expiration date automatically renders the license, registration and permit invalid without any action by the Board.  You may not practice at any time on an expired license. 

INACTIVE STATUS
A Dentist or Dental Hygienist may request to be placed on "Inactive Status" at renewal by submitting the following:

  1. Completed Renewal Application.
  2. Written request to be placed on "Inactive Status"

There is no renewal fee or continuing education required to be placed on inactive status. Please contact our office to have a renewal application sent to you.

ONLINE VERIFICATION SEARCH
You can determine if your renewal has been received and processed by accessing our free online verification search.

ADDRESS CHANGE
You are required to notify the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency of any address change. Please call our office at (317) 234-2054 or by email at pla8@pla.in.gov or by FAX at (317) 233-4236 to report a change of address. You can also submit your address change in writing to the:

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
ATTN: State Board of Dentistry
402 West Washington Street, Room W072
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Please be sure to give us your name, license number or social security number, and both your old and new addresses.

NAME CHANGE
You may have the name changed on your licensure records by submitting a legal name change document (marriage certificate, divorce decree, social security card or other legal name change documents).

Please send your name change information to:

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
ATTN: State Board of Dentistry
402 West Washington Street, Room W072
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Your request to change your name should include your name as it is listed now, your new name, and your license number or social security number.