IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Serve Indiana

Serve Indiana > Foreclosure Prevention Foreclosure Prevention

Introduction     |     Serve Indiana’s Role     |     How You Can Get Help     |
     Volunteer Host Sites     |     Funding Opportunities for Volunteer Host Sites

- Introduction

The downturn in the economy has hit some Hoosier’s harder than others.  When they are at risk of losing their home due to unemployment or underemployment, they may be eligible for financial assistance to pay their mortgage through the Hardest Hit Fund (HHF).  In return, they must participate in an approved training, education, or volunteer work program. 

HoosierCorps is the name of the Hardest Hit Fund Volunteer Service Program (HHF VSP), and is one of the three types of structured activities HHF clients can select to comply with HHF guidelines. HoosierCorps allows HHF clients to volunteer by matching client skills, abilities, and interests with volunteer opportunities at non-profit organizations in their communities. HHF clients will be able to choose from a variety of volunteer opportunities by contacting one of several non-profit agencies in their community, where they will volunteer for 20 hours per month while receiving HHF benefits.

- Serve Indiana’s Role

Serve Indiana collaborates with the Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority (IHCDA) to provide funding, structure, and oversight of structured volunteer activities through HoosierCorps.

- How You Can Get Help

If you are an individual in need of assistance or would like to determine if you are eligible for the HHF program please contact the Indiana Foreclosure Prevention Network through their website http://www.877gethope.org/ or by calling 1-877-GET-HOPE. 

- Volunteer Host Sites

 

The following organizations are participating HoosierCorps organizations that provide volunteer opportunities for HHF clients. 

Region 1 - Counties: Lake, Porter, LaPorte, Newton, Jasper, Pulaski, Starke
United Way of Porter County, 951 Eastport Centre Dr, Valparaiso, IN 46384
Kathy Wojkovich, kathyb@unitedwaypc.org  219-464-3583

Region 2 - Counties: St. Joseph, Elkhart, Marshall, Fulton, Kosciusko
Catholic Charities, 1817 Miami St, South Bend, IN 46613
Annie Envall aenvall@ccfwsb.org 574-234-3111
Claire Coleman, ccoleman@ccfwsb.org  574-234-3111 ext 33

Region 3 - Counties: Allen, Adams, DeKalb, Huntington, LaGrange, Noble, Steuben, Wabash, Wells, Whitley
Catholic Charities, 915 S. Clinton Street, Fort Wayne, IN 46802
Robin Springstead, rspringstead@ccfwsb.org  260-422-5625 

Region 4 and 5 - Region 4 Counties: Benton, White, Carroll, Cass, Miami, Warren, Fountain, Tippecanoe, Clinton, Howard, Tipton, Montgomery Region 5 Counties: Boone, Hamilton, Hendricks, Marion, Hancock, Morgan, Johnson, Shelby
United Way of Central Indiana, 3901 N. Meridian St., Indianapolis, IN 46208
Wendy Johnson, mailto:nellie.moshier@uwci.org  317-921-1203
Jill Mockabee, jill.mockabee@uwci.org  317-921-1203
Rachael Candee Rachael.candee@uwci.org  317-921-1203

Region 6 - Counties: Blackford, Jay, Delaware, Randolph, Henry, Wayne, Rush, Fayette, Union
Interlocal Community Action Agency, 615 W SR 38, New Castle, IN 47362
Tina Wilkinson twilkinson@icapcaa.org  765-288-8732

Region 7 - Counties: Vermillion, Parke, Putnam, Vigo, Sullivan, Clay
Western Indiana Community Action Agency, 705 South 5th St., Terre Haute, IN 47807
Patty Baynard, pbaynard@Wicaa.org  812-232-1264 x222

Region 8 and 11 - Counties: Brown, Daviess, Greene, Lawrence, Martin, Monroe, Orange, Owen
Dubois Warrick Pike EOC, Inc. d/b/a TRI-CAP, 607 Third Street, Jasper, IN 47547
Donna Sturgeon, donna@tri-cap.net  812-897-0364
Justin Collins, Justin@tri-cap.net 812-354-8721 x102 

Region 9 and 10 - Region 9 Counties: Bartholomew, Decatur, Franklin, Jackson, Jennings, Ripley, Dearborn, Ohio, Switzerland Region 10 Counties: Washington, Scott, Clark, Floyd, Harrison, Crawford
River Valley Resources, 319 E. Main St, Madison, IN 47250
Mandi Logsdon, mandi@rivervalleyresources.com 812-265-2652

Region 12 - Counties: Grant, Madison
United Way of Madison County, 1201 East 5th St., Suite 1019, Anderson, IN 46013
Julie Barton, j.barton@unitedwaymadisonco.org 765-608-3062
Karen Hemberger, k.hemberger@unitedwaymadisonco.org  765-608-3060

- Funding Opportunities for Volunteer Host Sites

Funding opportunities for organizations who wish to become a HoosierCorps site are announced via the “Request for Proposals” and “Notice of Funding Opportunities” distributed by our office when new applications are sought.  Applications for this funding do not occur on an annual or scheduled basis.  To make sure you are on the list to receive these notices sign up for newsletters on our Contact page and visit our News and Events page often.