IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana State Library

Library > Services for Libraries > Professional Development Office Professional Development Office

The Professional Development Office (PDO) supports the advancement and development of library staff in all Indiana libraries for improved services to the citizens of Indiana. The PDO includes specialists in the areas of programming, children’s services, continuing education opportunities, and services available from the Indiana State Library.

PDO Staff

(317) 234-5650 or (800) 451-6028 (Indiana only), pdo@library.in.gov

Associate Director of Statewide Services - Wendy Knapp, 317-232-3691, wknapp@library.IN.gov

PDO Supervisor - Shauna Borger, 317-232-3718, sborger@library.in.gov
Oversees the work of the Professional Development Office.

Certification Program Director - Emily Kruse Schaber, 317-234-6217, emschaber@library.in.gov
Administers all aspects of the Public Librarian Certification Program and serves as a consultant to library staff and trustees on certification issues.

Children’s Services Consultant - Suzanne Walker, 317-234-5649, suwalker@library.in.gov
Provides consulting and programming support in the area of children’s and young adult services. Acts as coordinator of the Indiana Center for the Book.

Evergreen Indiana Program Coordinator - Anna Goben, 317-234-6624, agoben@library.in.gov
Oversees the Evergreen Indiana open-source integrated library system initiative, including training, data conversion, membership development and other related duties.

Regional Coordinators act as liaisons for the Indiana State Library and libraries of all types in different regions of Indiana.

Central Indiana Coordinator - Karen Ainslie, 317-232-1938, kainslie@library.IN.gov
Special areas of expertise include library finance and the Indiana e-rate program.

Northeast Regional Coordinator - Sara O'Sha, 317-447-0452, sosha@library.in.gov

Northwest Regional Coordinator - Jill Stange, 317-650-8492, jstange@library.in.gov
Special areas of expertise include information literacy and collection development.

Southeast Regional Coordinator - Bill Anderson, 317-517-1738, bianderson@library.in.gov
Special areas of expertise include collection development and program coordination.

Southwestern Regional Coordinator - Shirdellah Groulx, 317-605-3772, sgroulx@library.in.gov
Special areas of expertise include medicine/health and academic librarianship.

PDO SB 7-17-2013