IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana State Library

Library > Services for Libraries > Library Development Office Library Development Office

The Library Development Office supports the improvement and development of library services to all Indiana citizens. The LDO includes specialists in the areas of library finance, management, planning, evaluation, and services to special populations. The LDO also administers statewide library services like interlibrary loan and library delivery services.

LDO Staff

(317) 232-3697 or (800) 451-6028 (Indiana only) 

Wendy Knapp - Associate Director of Statewide Library Services - 317-232-3691, wknapp@library.IN.gov

Steven J. Schmidt, LDO Supervisor, 317-232-3715, SteSchmidt@library.IN.gov  
Oversees the Library Development Office.

Karen Ainslie - Public Library Services Consultant – 317-232-1938, kainslie@library.IN.gov  
Provides general consultation to library staff and trustees, and specific consultation on library finance, and coordinates the Indiana e-rate program.

Terry Black - Administrative Secretary, 317-232-3697, tblack@library.IN.gov
Provides secretarial support to library consultants. Maintains Positions Open list.

Jennifer Clifton - Jennifer Clifton - Public Library & LSTA Consultant, 317-234-6550, jclifton@library.IN.gov
Directs the collection, retrieval, analysis and publication of data from all types of Indiana libraries; coordinates, oversees and consults with libraries regarding LSTA programs, applications, and grant writing.. Provides consultant and advisory services to public librarians and trustees.

David Michael Hicks – INfoExpress & Indiana Share Coordinator, 317-232-3699, dhicks@library.in.gov
Coordinates and oversees the statewide INfoExpress library courier service and the Indiana SHARE program.

Connie Rendfeld - Digital Initiatives Librarian, 317-232-3694, crendfeld@library.IN.gov
Coordinates the Indiana Memory program and provides consultant and advisory services for the digitization projects of libraries.

Chandler Lighty, Digital Initiatives & NEH-NDNP Project Manager. 317-232-3681,
clighty@library.IN.gov Coordinates the NEH-NDNP digitization project and provides consultant and advisory services for the digitization projects of libraries

LDO SS 11-21-2013