2010 Statehood Day Essay Contest

Congratulations to fourth-grader Kamryn Bridges of Burris Elementary in Mitchell for winning the 2010 Statehood Day Essay Contest! Kamryn read her winning essay during the Statehood Day Ceremony at the Indiana Statehouse on December 10, 2010.

Thanks to all the students and teachers who submitted a record-setting 2,880 essays for the 2010 contest. The following students received awards at the 2010 Statehood Day Ceremony:

1st place                       Kamryn Bridges – Burris Elementary (Mitchell)

2nd place                      Catherine Figg - New Britton Elementary (Fishers)

3rd place                       Dilanya Moonesinghe - Sycamore Elementary (Kokomo)

Hon. Mention               Sophie Adams - Prairie Trace Elementary (Carmel)

Hon. Mention                Matthias Benko - St. Luke Catholic School (Indianapolis)

Hon. Mention                Jack Poynter - Greenwood Bible Baptist (Greenwood)