In 1980, the Indiana General Assembly concluded that the field of probation in Indiana is a judicial function and should be under the supervision of the Board of Directors of the Judicial Conference of Indiana. Since 1981, the Board has continuously been involved in studying the possible ways in which Indiana courts could be assisted in improving the delivery of probation services.
On December 9, 1983, the Board of Directors adopted new qualifications for prospective probation officers. These qualifications became effective on July 1, 1984, and have served to enhance the quality of probation as a profession in Indiana.
The Indiana Judicial Center is the staff agency of the Judicial Conference and provides educational programming, research assistance and other services for the judges and probation departments in Indiana. The Center administers the examination for certification of prospective officers as required by the Judicial Conference qualifications.
On this page , you will find all pertinent information regarding the probation officer certification process. We look forward to serving you whenever possible and we appreciate your interest in becoming certified in a very challenging and rewarding profession. If you have any questions regarding this information, contact Chad Long at the following address and phone number:
Indiana Judicial Center
30 South Meridian Street, Suite 900
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Any person who meets the minimum qualifications as outlined may apply to take the Probation Officer Certification Examination. A person who meets these qualifications and is already serving in the position of a probation officer must take and pass the examination within six (6) months after his/her appointment according to Indiana Code § 11-13-1-1(b).
If you feel you are qualified to become a probation officer in Indiana, complete the application (below) and return it to this office with a $50.00 application fee (money order, cashier's check or certified check only). The application fee is nonrefundable. A photocopy of your state identification card or state drivers license (including a current picture) must accompany this application fee.
Qualified applications are held on file for one year from the date of receipt in this office. Failure by an applicant to pass the examination within that year will require a new application and payment of a new application fee.
In addition to the completed application and non-refundable fee, you must have a certified transcript sent directly from your college or university to this office for your application to be complete. We cannot accept a transcript from the applicant. The transcript must indicate that a bachelor's degree has been conferred, or that you are enrolled in the final semester of a college program leading toward graduation with a bachelor's degree.
Upon receipt of your completed application, the $50.00 non-refundable application fee and your college transcript, you will be notified of exam dates in the near future for which you may register. If you pass the exam, you will be informed by letter from the Indiana Judicial Center.
It is your responsibility to see that your application is properly completed and returned to this office with the application fee, and that your college or university sends us your certified transcript. The completed application, $50.00 application fee, state photo and certified transcript must be received 3 weeks in advance of a scheduled examination date to allow sufficient time for processing.
The examination is given the first Thursday of every month and is at the Indiana Judicial Center located at 30 S. Meridian Street, Suite 900, in downtown Indianapolis. The next three available examination dates will be indicated in the letter notifying the applicant that he/she is qualified to take the certification examination.
The examination will begin promptly at 9:00 a.m. and will last two (2) hours for the rest of 2014. Starting January 8, 2015, the examination will begin promptly at 1:00 p.m. and will last two (2) hours.The examination format consists of
The examination contains approximately an equal number of questions that apply to juvenile law, criminal sentencing and general probation matters. The questions are based on the following: Titles 11, 31 & 35 of the Indiana Code, terms used in Juvenile and Criminal law, and basic knowledge of Criminal Justice.
Notes, outlines or other review may be brought with the applicant for last minute review, but will not be allowed during the exam. Beverages (e.g., coffee, tea, cola, etc), gum and candy are permitted in the examination room.
A passing score is seventy percent (70%). The score of the examination is kept confidential and is only released if the applicant fails. The results will be mailed to the applicant within two weeks following the examination. If the applicant is currently employed as a probation officer, a copy of the notification results will be mailed also to his/her chief probation officer and judge (s). No examination results will be released by telephone to anyone at any time.
Study Guide References & Materials
The Indiana Judicial Center recommends studying actual statutes and neither requires nor endorses any other study materials.
Statutory materials may be found in any court law library, probation department, and law firm, including university and public libraries. You may also find it helpful to study a dictionary of commonly used legal Terms associated with criminal justice and the courts.
The following citations are taken from the Indiana Code (IC) sections that should be studied for the examination. The latest supplements should be checked for changes.
|Indiana Juvenile Code||Probation Officers|
|IC 31-30-1-1 through IC 31-40-4-1 (1997)
||IC 11-13-1-1 through IC 11-13-2-5|
|Interstate Compact for Probation||Detention of Certain Adult Probationers|
|IC 11-13-4-1 through IC 11-13-5-4
|Entry of Judgment and Presentence Reports||Probation and Home Detention|
|IC 35-38-1-1 through IC 35-38-1-27
||IC 35-38-2-1 through IC 35-38-2-3|
IC 35-38-2.5-1 through IC 35-38-2.5-13
|Commitment to the Department of Corrections||Death Penalty|
|IC 35-38-3-1 through IC 35-38-3-6
||IC 35-38-6-1 through IC 35-38-6-10|
|Sentencing||Parole and Credit Time|
|IC 35-50-1-1 through IC 35-50-1-7
IC 35-50-2-1 through IC 35-50-2-15
IC 35-50-3-1 through IC 35-50-3-4
IC 35-50-5-1.1 through IC 35-50-5-4
|IC 35-50-6-1 through IC 35-50-6-8|
|Sex Offender Registration|
|IC 11-8-8-1 through IC 11-8-8-20|
|Pleas||Direct Placement in Community Correction Programs|
|IC 35-35-1-1 through IC 35-35-3-7
||IC 35-38-2.6-1 through 35-38-2.6-7|
|Minimum Security Release Program for Criminal Offenders|
|IC 11-10-8-1 through IC 11-10-8-9|