Indiana Supreme Court
Office of Judicial Administration
State House, Room 314
200 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Contact Us

Mary Willis
Chief Administrative Officer

Judicial Administration > Judicial Retention 2016 Judicial Retention 2016

"The health of our entire legal system—both state and federal—depends on having a competent and independent state judiciary… How we choose our state judges, and how we decide whether to keep them in office or not, is of critical importance.”

—the Honorable Sandra Day O’Connor
Retired Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States

About Judicial Retention

Judges up for Retention in 2016

The following judges will appear on the November 2016 ballot for retention.

Photo of Judge NajamJudge Edward W. Najam, Jr.

Court of Appeals of Indiana, District 1

Edward W. Najam, Jr., of Bloomington, Monroe County, is Presiding Judge of the First District, which includes 53 counties in central and southern Indiana. He was appointed to the Court of Appeals by Governor Evan Bayh in 1992 and retained by the electorate in 1996 and 2006. Judge Najam graduated from Indiana University High School in Bloomington, where he grew up. He attended Indiana University-Bloomington, where he earned a B.A. in political science, With Highest Distinction, in 1969. Judge Najam earned his J.D. from Harvard Law School and was admitted to the Indiana Bar in 1972. While at I.U. he was elected to Phi Beta … Read more »

View Judicial Opinions in cases heard by Judge Najam

Photo of Judge RileyJudge Patricia A. Riley

Court of Appeals of Indiana, District 4

Patricia A. Riley was named to the Court of Appeals of Indiana by Governor Evan Bayh in January of 1994. A native of Rensselaer, Indiana, Judge Riley earned her bachelor’s degree from Indiana University-Bloomington in 1971 and her law degree from the Indiana University School of Law-Indianapolis in 1974. Early in her career she served as a Deputy Prosecutor in Marion County and a public defender in Marion and Jasper counties before entering into private practice in Jasper County. She served as a judge of the Jasper Superior Court from 1990 to 1993. She is a former associate professor at St. Joseph's College in Rensselaer… Read more »

View Judicial Opinions in cases heard by Judge Riley

Photo of Judge KirschJudge James S. Kirsch

Court of Appeals of Indiana, District 2

James S. Kirsch was appointed to the Court of Appeals in March 1994 and served as Chief Judge from March 1, 2004 to February 28, 2007. A native of Indianapolis, Judge Kirsch is a graduate of the Indiana University School of Law at Indianapolis (J.D., cum laude, 1974) and Butler University (B.A. with honors, 1968). Judge Kirsch served as Judge of the Marion Superior Court from 1988 to 1994 and as presiding judge of the court in 1992. From 1974 to 1988, he practiced law with the firm of Kroger, Gardis & Regas in Indianapolis in the areas of commercial and business litigation and served… Read more »

View Judicial Opinions in cases heard by Judge Kirsch

Photo of Judge CroneJudge Terry A. Crone

Court of Appeals of Indiana, District 3

Terry A. Crone was appointed to The Court of Appeals in 2004 by Governor Kernan. Raised in South Bend, Judge Crone was elected to 3 terms as Judge of the St. Joseph Circuit Court. He is a graduate of DePauw University and Notre Dame Law School. Judge Crone is past President of St. Joseph County Bar Association, a former member of the Board of Managers of the Indiana Judges Association, the Supreme Court Committee on Character and Fitness, the Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee of the Indiana Judicial Conference, past chair of Appellate Practice Section of the Indiana State Bar Association and is a member of … Read more »

View Judicial Opinions in cases heard by Judge Crone

The Office of Judicial Administration does not endorse the results of any surveys on judicial retention or the views expressed on any website outside the Indiana Judicial System web pages.