Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
As a result of the merger between TRF and PERF, any TRF employee hired before July 1, 2011 remains a TRF member, but is now an INPRS employee. Any employee hired after June 30, 2011 is an INPRS employee and a PERF member. Faculty and staff at certain charter schools and public universities throughout Indiana and some legally qualified State employees and employers are eligible for optional enrollment.
Members of TRF include teachers in a public school corporation, certain INPRS employees, and some employees in charter schools and public universities. According to Indiana law, a substitute teacher may be a member of TRF upon completion of the following: 1) Be certified by the Indiana State Board of Education; 2) Have obtained at least an associate’s degree; 3) Teach at least 120 days in a fiscal year (July 1 to June 30) or at least 60 days in each of two fiscal years. Certification from the State Board of Education may include a teaching license, a substitute teaching permit, a temporary teaching license, or an emergency teaching license. However, if the member’s license expires, he or she is no longer eligible to be a TRF member until a new license is issued. No contributions are collected for substitute teachers who do not meet the criteria outlined above.
Indiana Administrative Code provides that teacher aides and higher education graduate assistants are not eligible for membership in the Fund.
Employers will enroll the new member online in the TRF plan by INPRS. Once this form is processed, the member receives a welcome mailing.
The membership status of a member with less than 10 years of covered service is automatically suspended five years after leaving a TRF-covered position.
The membership status of a member with less than 10 years of covered service may be suspended two years after leaving a TRF-covered position if the value of the member’s Annuity Savings Account (ASA) is $1,000 or less. TRF, by law, can automatically issue reimbursements to inactive members with less than $1,000 in their ASA. Members can go online or call TRF at (888) 286-3544 to complete the paperwork process. We are available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. EST.