Reinstating a Resident License That Has Been Expired for Less Than Twelve (12) Months

Reinstating a Non-Resident Expired License

  1. Producers Who Allow Licenses to Expire and COMPLETED Continuing Education (CE) Before License Expired
  2. Producers Who Allow Licenses to Expire and DID NOT COMPLETE Continuing Education (CE) Before License Expired

Pursuant to Indiana Code 27-1-15.6-7(e) and IDOI Bulletin 108, an individual producer who allows their license to expire may have the license reinstated within twelve (12) months of the license expiration date without having to complete all initial/new license application requirements again. The license reinstatement requirements and procedures will differ depending on whether the producer completed the required continuing education (CE) before the license expired. Requirements for producers who completed CE before the license expired are listed in Section A below, and requirements for producers who did not complete CE before the license expired are listed in Section B below.

An individual producer who allows their license to expire and seeks to reinstate the license more than twelve (12) months after the expiration date will not be able to have the license reinstated. The producer must complete all initial/new resident license application requirements, including pre-licensing education, the state exam(s), and a new license application.

Licenses that are reinstated are effective as of the date the Department finds that the producer has complied with all applicable requirements. A producer may be subject to additional penalties for any sale, solicitation or negotiation of insurance during the time the license was expired and before it was reinstated.

A. Producers Who Allow Licenses to Expire and COMPLETED Continuing Education (CE) Before License Expired

Resident producers who allow their licenses to expire and completed required continuing education (CE) before the license expired, may reinstate the license within twelve (12) months of the license expiration date by submitting the license renewal application, renewal fee and reinstatement penalty fee of three (3) times the license renewal fee. The license renewal fee for resident producers is $40 and the reinstatement penalty is $120, for a total of $160.

Resident producer reinstatement applications and fees may be submitted online through either www.sircon.com/Indiana (by selecting "Renew your license") or www.nipr.com (by selecting "Renew"), or by mailing the uniform NAIC paper renewal application for individual producers and a $160 check or money order made payable to Indiana Department of Insurance or IDOI to the following address:

Indiana Department of Insurance
c/o Producer Licensing
311 W. Washington Street, Suite 103
Indianapolis, IN  46204-2787

B. Producers Who Allow Licenses to Expire and DID NOT COMPLETE Continuing Education (CE) Before License Expired

Resident individual producers who allow their licenses to expire without completing the required continuing education (CE), may reinstate the license within twelve (12) months of the license expiration date by completing each of the following three steps:

  1. Complete the outstanding CE required for the license. Producers may view their outstanding CE online at www.sircon.com/Indiana by selecting "Look up education courses/credits" and doing a "Continuing Education Transcript Inquiry."
  2. Pass the Laws & Regulations Assessment for a line of authority on the license. In order to take the Laws & Regulations Assessment for a line of authority on your license, you must request the "Waiver of Pre-Licensing Education" by emailing agentlicensing@idoi.in.gov and register and schedule the assessment online. Include in the email your name, license number, and which Laws & Regulations Assessment you need to take (i.e., Property & Casualty (PC), Life, Health, or Life & Health (LH)). Producers with muliple lines of authority need to complete an assessment for only one (1) of the lines on the license in order to reinstate the license. The Waiver must be taken with you to the exam. Additional information on examination requirements and procedures is available online at www.in.gov/idoi/2482.htm
  3. Submit the license reinstatement application and fee. Resident producer reinstatement applications and fees may be submitted online through either www.sircon.com/Indiana (by selecting "Renew your license") or www.nipr.com (by selecting "Renew"), or by mailing the uniform NAIC paper renewal application for individual producers and a check or money order made payable to Indiana Department of Insurance or IDOI to the address below. The fee is $160 ($40 renewal fee and $120 reinstatement penalty) for producers who did not complete the renewal application and pay the renewal fee prior to the license expiring, or $120 for producers who completed the license renewal application and paid the renewal fee prior to the license expiring for failure to complete the CE requirements.

    Indiana Department of Insurance
    c/o Producer Licensing
    311 W. Washington Street, Suite 103
    Indianapolis, IN  46204-2787