IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Department of Insurance

IDOI > Producer and Agency Licensing > Agents > Resident Licensing > Bail Bond/Recovery Agents Licensing Bail Bond/Recovery Agents Licensing

Bail Agent First Time Applicants

Download the Bail Agent Application 

Applicant Requirements

Please type or print legibly.  Illegible applications will be returned.  You must answer all questions fully and the affidavit must be properly notarized.  Failure to follow instructions will result in the application’s return to applicant.  Please attach a sheet for additional information when necessary. 

All applications must include:

  1. A recent digital full face photograph and your signature on the specimen sheet to be included on your license. 
  2. Certified fingerprint card from local law enforcement, or a receipt from L-1 Identify Solutions showing that you have been fingerprinted. 
  3. Recent Credit Bureau Report (Free): http://www.annualcreditreport.com/
  4. Criminal History Check completed by Indiana State Police.
  5. Photo copies of other Professional Licenses that you hold.
  6. Application fee of $650 (check or money order).
  7. Completion Certificate for 12 credit hours of Pre-Licensing Education.
  8. Passing test results.

We DO NOT accept cash or credit cards.   

Note:  Information regarding testing is included when you print out your application.  There is a $100 examination fee to be paid by credit/debit card on the website when scheduling your exam.

Schedule exam online:  https://secure.vitapowered.com/idoi/login.screen

Please note that incorrect or misleading information on this application may result in a denial or other administrative action!  Please call Linda Reynolds at 317-232-5249, if you have any questions regarding this application. 

Back to top

Bail Agent Renewal Applicants

Download the Bail Bond Renewal Application 

Applicant Requirements

Please type or print legibly.  Illegible applications will be returned.  You must answer all questions fully and the affidavit must be properly notarized.  Failure to follow instructions will result in the application’s return to applicant.  Please attach a sheet for additional information when necessary.  You must note any changes in address, county or phone numbers on this application

All applications must include:

  1. A recent full face photograph and your signature on the specimen sheet to be included on you license. 
  2. Application fee of $600 (check or money order).
  3. Include a completed 3a License Requisition Form. Download the 3-A Form
  4. Completion Certificate for 6 credit hours of Continuing Education.
  5. If you are a state supervising agent, you must provide a list of all build up funds and their locations. 

We DO NOT accept cash or credit cards. 

Please note that any incorrect or misleading information on this application will result in administrative denial.  If you have any questions regarding this application, please call Linda Reynolds at 317-232-5249.

Back to top

Recovery Agent First Time Applicants

Download the Recovery Agent Application

Applicant Requirements

Please type or print legibly.  Illegible applications will be returned.  You must answer all questions fully and the affidavit must be properly notarized.  Failure to follow instructions will result in the application’s return to applicant.  Please attach a sheet for additional information when necessary. 

All applications must include:

  1. A recent digital full face photograph and your signature on the specimen sheet to be included on your license. 
  2. Certified fingerprint card from local law enforcement, or a receipt from L-1 Identity Solutions showing that you have been fingerprinted. 
  3. Recent Credit Bureau Report (Free): http://www.annualcreditreport.com/
  4. Criminal History Check completed by Indiana State Police.
  5. Photo copies of other Professional Licenses that you hold.
  6. Application fee of $300 (check or money order).
  7. Completion Certificate for 12 credit hours of Pre-Licensing Education.
  8. Passing test results.

We DO NOT accept cash or credit cards. 

Note: Information regarding testing is included when you print out the application.  There is a $100 examination fee to be paid by credit/debit card on the website when scheduling your examination. 

Schedule exam online:  https://secure.vitapowered.com/idoi/login.screen

Please note that incorrect or misleading information on this application may result in a denial or other administrative action! If you have any questions regarding this application, please call Linda Reynolds at 317-232-5249

Recovery Agent Renewal Applicants

Download the Recovery Agent Renewal Application 

Applicant Requirements

Please type or print legibly.  Illegible applications will be returned.  You must answer all questions fully and the affidavit must be properly notarized.  Failure to follow instructions will result in the application’s return to applicant.  Please attach a sheet for additional information when necessary.  You must note any changes in address, county or phone numbers on this application.

All applications must include:

  1. A recent full face photograph and your signature on the specimen sheet to be included on your license. 
  2. Application fee of $300 (check or money order).
  3. Completion Certificate for 6 credit hours of Continuing Education.

We DO NOT accept cash or credit cards. 

Please note that any incorrect or misleading information on this application will result in administrative denial.  If you have any questions regarding this application, please call Linda Reynolds at 317-232-5249.

Back to top

CE & PLE Providers

Indiana Examination Content Outline
List of CE/PLE Providers 

Back to top


Additional Bail and Recovery Agent Online Forms

Address Change Form
Affidavit of Premiums Owed
Affidavit to Waive Exam
Agent Report of Bail Records
Statement Late Surrender Fees
Bail Bond Complaint Form
Bail Bond Instructor Application
Bail Bond Provider Application
Collateral Ledger
Report of Recovery Agents Employed
Surety Change Form

Back to top

Indiana Authorized Surety Companies

View a List of Surety Companies

Back to top

Bail and Recovery Agent Laws and Regulations

View a List of Laws and Regulations Document

Back to top

Registered Bail Bond/Recovery Agents

View a complete list of Bail Bond Agents
View a complete list of Recovery Agents

Back to top

Court Forms

Notice of Judgement, Court Costs and/or Late Surrender Fees
Notice of Satisfied Judgement

Back to top

General Interest

The Bail Bond Division highlights court cases and bulletins relevant to Bail Bond and Recovery Agents.  Please click on the links below to read Indiana court cases and bulletins which affect Indiana bail laws: 

Halliburton Cease and Desist Order
GPS Court Case
Melissa Kay Sneed vs State of Indiana
Galloway Court Case
John Osburn vs. State of Indiana
Vernon General Court Case
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Bulletin 177 Rebating
Bulletin 180 Recovery Agent Fees
Bulletin 192 Clarfication of Various Bail Bond Laws
Court of Appeals: Frontier Insurance and Midwest Bonding vs State of Indiana
Manuel Gaeta-Roche vs. State of Indiana
Constance Jones vs. Markey Bonding

For questions about bail bond or recovery agent licensing, please contact Linda Reynolds at 317-232-5249 or lreynolds@idoi.IN.gov.

Back to top

Contacts

Debra Webb
Deputy General Counsel, Enforcement Division
317-232-2404
317-234-2103 Fax
dwebb@idoi.IN.gov.  

Robert L. Hummel
Managing Attorney, Bail Bond Division
317-232-5063
317-234-2103 Fax
rhummel@idoi.IN.gov.

Mike Herndon
Bail & Enforcement Investigator
317-234-5883
317-234-2103 Fax
mherndon@idoi.IN.gov.

Linda Reynolds
Bail Bond Secretary
317-232-5249
317-234-2103 Fax
lreynolds@idoi.IN.gov.

Lynda J. Gable
Senior Bail Bond Auditor
317-234-2101
317-234-2103 Fax
lgable@idoi.IN.gov.

Back to top