- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.


Agency Links Links

Pollution Prevention

Pollution Prevention > Governor’s Awards for Environmental Excellence > Governor's Award Categories Governor's Award Categories

The Governor's Awards consist of the following three categories:

Energy/Renewable Resources

This category is for projects or programs that prevent pollution by either reducing energy use or by producing energy using zero- or very-low-emission technologies. It includes efforts to significantly increase the energy efficiency of buildings or equipment, the use of environmentally-benign energy production technologies, and the use of innovative technologies that will reduce dependence upon traditional fossil-fuel-based energy sources.

Pollution Prevention

This category is for entities who have implemented one or more pollution prevention projects in the last year. The project must meet the definition of pollution prevention to be eligible. A facility in this category has reduced the use of hazardous materials or the risk of an accident involving the release of a hazardous material through pollution prevention. Examples of projects in this category could focus on one or more of the following: input change, product reformulation, and production process redesign and/or modification.

Projects are frequently submitted in the Pollution Prevention category that do not meet the definition of pollution prevention and are therefore not eligible. The most common ineligible projects include those involving treatment of waste or releases after waste is generated; recycling water or other waste materials; and overall general environmental management practices rather than a specific project that resulted from an environmental management system.

If you are unsure whether your project meets the definition of pollution prevention, please contact the IDEM Office of Compliance Support at (800) 988-7901 for additional assistance.

Environmental Stewardship

This category is for businesses or industries which do not have one individual project that meets the high standards for a Governor’s Award in the above categories, but rather multiple environmental stewardship projects resulting in proven environmental benefits. Only those applications demonstrating exceptional environmental excellence through measurable results will be considered for an award. Measurable results must be demonstrated with quantifiable data in order to be considered for an award (lbs, gallons or tons of air, waste, water reductions, etc).