- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Family and Social Services Administration

DMHA > Mental Health Services > Adult Mental Health Habilitation Services Adult Mental Health Habilitation Services

Effective November 1, 2014, Indiana will be implementing the 1915(i) Adult Mental Health Habilitation (AMHH) Services program. The AMHH services program has been adopted by Indiana to provide community-based opportunities for the care of adults with serious mental illness who may most benefit from keeping or learning skills to maintain a healthy safe lifestyle in the community.

AMHH services are provided for individuals and their families, or groups of adult persons who are living in the community and who need help on a regular basis with serious mental illness or co-occurring mental illness and addiction disorders.  This is accomplished by:

  • Assessing the individual’s needs and strengths.
  • Developing an Individualized Integrated Care Plan (IICP) that outlines objectives of care, including how AMHH services assist in delivering appropriate home and community-based habilitation services to the individual.
  • Assisting the individual in reaching their habilitative goals.

An eligible AMHH services recipient will be authorized to receive specific requested AMHH services as approved by the State Evaluation Team and on their care plan for one year (365 days) from the Start Date of the approval. The following are the AMHH services:

  • Adult day services
  • Home and community-based habilitation and support
  • Respite care
  • Therapy and behavior support services
  • Addiction counseling
  • Peer support services
  • Supported community engagement services
  • Care coordination
  • Medication training and support

AMHH services are intended for individuals who meet the all of following core target group criteria:

  • Individual is enrolled in  Medicaid
  • Individual is age thirty-five (35) or older
  • Individual has an AMHH-eligible, DMHA approved diagnosis, which may include the following (Refer to Eligible Diagnoses link for a full listing of AMHH-eligible diagnosis codes):
    • Schizophrenic Disorders (295.xx)
    • Major Depressive Disorder (296.xx)
    • Bipolar Disorders (296.xx)
    • Delusional Disorder (297.1)
    • Psychotic Disorder NOS (298.9)
    • Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (300.3)

Contact information:

A.J. Walker, MPA
Quality Improvement Specialist and Site Coach
Division of Mental Health & Addiction
Indiana Family & Social Services Administration
402 W. Washington St., Room W353
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 232-7939

Information Links:

Eligible Diagnoses
Approved Providers