- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Family and Social Services Administration

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST


  • dfr-benefits
  • paths_quality_widget

Family and Social Services Administration

FSSA Home > About FSSA > History/Overview History/Overview

The Family and Social Services Administration (FSSA) was established by the General Assembly in 1991 to consolidate and better integrate the delivery of human services by State government. FSSA is led by the Secretary who is appointed by the Governor and is a member of the Governor's cabinet.

FSSA is a health care and social service funding agency. Ninety-four percent (94%) of the agency's total budget is paid to thousands of service providers ranging from major medical centers to a physical therapist working with a child or adult with a developmental disability. The five care divisions in FSSA administer services to over one million Hoosiers.

Division of Family Resources (DFR) - Receives applications and approves eligibility for Medicaid, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), Cash Assistance (TANF) and childcare; implementing a modernized application process using internet, document imaging and call-in services. DFR operates in all 92 counties and administers the childcare licensing and inspection program.

Office of Medicaid Policy and Planning (OMPP) - Administers Medicaid programs including the managed care system for Hoosier Healthwise (HHW) participants. OMPP performs medical review of Medicaid disability claims.

Division of Disability and Rehabilitative Services (DDRS) - Manages the delivery of services to children and adults with developmental disabilities. DDRS oversees the First Steps rehabilitation program for children from birth to age three.

Division of Mental Health and Addiction (DMHA) - Supports network of mental health care providers. DMHA operates six psychiatric hospitals and funds addiction prevention and treatment programs.

Division of Aging - Funds long-term care through Medicaid programs. The Division of Aging supports the development and utilization of alternatives to nursing home care, as well as coordinates and funds services through network of Area Agencies on Aging.

Primary Services