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Required Markings
Vehicles must be marked on front and rear with a sign reading 
“OVER-SIZE LOAD.”

The sign must be at least 18 inches high and between 
6 to 8 feet long.
The letters must be black, 12 inches high, with a 2-inch 
stroke on yellow background.
Color combinations or wording approved by other 
states will be permitted, when trip originates outside 
Indiana.

Vehicles must be marked with 2 red or orange flags, placed at 
the widest extremities of the vehicle or load.

Flags must be in good condition, plain or orange with 
no figures.
Flags must be 18 inches square and placed so that ap-
proaching traffic can see them.

Lighting
All provisions of 49 CFR 393.11 apply, plus the following:
Permitted vehicles must have low beam headlights on while 
transporting a load.
Mobile homes and sectionalized buildings having widths of 12 
feet 4 inches or more must be equipped with four high intensity, 
amber, flashing lights.

Two of these must be mounted on the front. Two must 
be mounted on the rear of the combination.
Lights mounted on the load must be placed at the outer 
edges and not be less than 6 feet above the roadway.
Front lights may be mounted on the towing vehicle at 
furthest extreme of any safety device, not extending 
beyond the mirrors, and must be double-faced lamps, 
visible both on front and rear.
Lights must be visible at 500 feet in normal sunlight.

Flagmen
Flagmen will be provided by the transporting company at all 
locations needing such traffic control. Locations needing such 
flagmen include:  encroachment into opposing traffic lanes 
and stops, or blockages of traffic locations where stops are not 
normally required by existing traffic control devices.  More 
information about traffic control regulation may be found at 
105 IAC 9-2.

Speed
Any permitted vehicle over 85’ long, or 10’6” wide, or above 
legal height may not exceed 55 miles per hour.

Blockage of Traffic
Permitted vehicles must not block traffic at any time from 
use of the highway, including the loading and unloading of 
equipment.
Permitted vehicles must not be parked either day or night on 
the shoulder or right-of-way.
Permitted vehicles will use the highway shoulder only on those 
occasions necessary to allow for the safe unrestricted passage 
of oncoming/passing traffic.
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Vehicle Operators
Operators must be 18 years of age or older and hold a valid 
Indiana Chauffeurs License or Commercial Driver’s License, 
whichever is applicable.
Drivers must have the vehicle permit in possession during 
transport and must how permit, on demand, to any police of-
ficer, motor carrier inspector, or any authorized employee of 
the State of Indiana.
The mover and/or owner of the vehicle and/or load will be 
held responsible in the event that it is necessary to remove 
any buildings, railings, or other structures from the highway. 
In the event that any buildings, railings, or other structures are 
damaged, the cost of the removal and/or damage will be borne 
by the permit applicant.

Escort Vehicle(s) Requirements
Permitted vehicles must have escorts when they exceed:

12’4” in width, 110’ in length or 14’6” in height 
One escort vehicle must be in front when on undivided 
highway and in rear when on divided highways
If over 14’6” high, must have an escort with a height 
stick  traveling in front of load
If between 14”4” and 17” wide, one rear escort on a dual 
lane divided highway and two escorts (front and rear) on 
all other roads.

Escort vehicles must have a minimum of 4 wheels with a 
maximum gross registered weight of 11,000 lbs.  Must have a 
flashing amber light mounted on top and an oversize load sign, 
which is visible to approaching traffic.  Must have radio com-
munication with permitted vehicle and/or load and may not be 
more than 500 feet from permitted vehicle and/or load.

Other Provisions
This permit does not apply to any state roads or bridges that are 
closed for construction purposes, or  to any roads or bridges that 
are posted for gross load limits, and/or any roads,  structures, 
wires, etc., having a  restricted height and/or width clearance  
that will not clear said load.
This permit does not apply to I-65 or I-70 inside I-465.
This permit does not apply to any county roads or city 
streets.
Any violation of this permit shall automatically cause the permit 
to be void. Upon violation the police officer or motor carrier 
inspector will have the authority to withdraw your permit.
All transporting vehicles must meet all safety requirements as 
set forth in Title 49, CFR (Code of Federal Regulations).
This permit does not cover license or other registration require-
ments.

Holiday Restrictions
Permitted vehicles may not operate on state highways from 
12:00 	noon the last weekday preceding and continuing until 
1/2 hr before sunrise on the day following:  New Year’s Day, 
Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, 
and Christmas Day.
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Weather
Permitted oversized vehicles are not allowed to operate during hazardous weather, road, or traffic conditions, and/or when visibility 
is less than 500 feet. Permitted vehicles may not operate when wind velocity exceeds 25 miles per hour.

Hours of Operation
Up to 110’ long 10’ wide, 13’6” high, and under 200,000 lbs Continuous travel 7 days a week.
Over  110’ long, 10’-14’4” wide, up to 15’ high 7 days a week (1/2 hr before sunrise - 1/2 hr after sunset)
Over 16’ wide, or over 15’ high, or over 200,000 lbs gross vehicle weight Monday - Friday 8:30am - 3:30pm (other provisions may apply)
Between 14’4” and 16’ wide Monday - Friday (1/2 hr before sunrise - 1/2 hr after sunset)
Permitted Mobile Homes and Sectionalized Buildings between 8’6” and 
14’4” wide

Monday - Friday (1/2 hr before sunrise - 1/2 hr after sunset) Saturday 
(1/2 hr before sunrise - 12:00 noon)

Note to Enforcement Agencies:  Advise the Indiana Department of Revenue as soon as possible after withdrawing this permit by calling (317) 615-7320.
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