- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Department of Revenue

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST
  • tax talk widget
  • tax_videolibrary_widget
  • transparency_widget

Indiana Department of Revenue

DOR > Business Tax > Electronic Filing for Cigarette Taxpayers Electronic Filing for Cigarette Taxpayers

As of July 1, 2014, any person who is liable for the payment of cigarette excise taxes must file returns electronically and submit payments electronically. Any informational returns that do not require a tax payment also must be filed electronically.

The electronic filing requirements apply to the following forms: 

  • CIG-M: Cigarette Distributor's Monthly Return
  • CT-19: Monthly Report of Cigarettes Stamped and Roll-Your-Own Tobacco Purchased
  • CIG-TS: Cigarette Transaction Schedule*

*The CIG-TS is a dual-purpose form. Distributors will file the CIG-TS as a schedule with the CIG-M. PACT Act filers who do not file the CIG-M will file the CIG-TS.

Although electronic filing is required, paper forms with instructions are available so taxpayers can visualize what is required. The forms are available at

File Creation

There are two methods for creating files. The first method involves extracting the data from your recordkeeping system and utilizing the XML schema definitions to format your data correctly. The following links provide this schema information: 

The other method for creating the file uses a converter tool. Under this methodology, you download an excel template, input your data, and export the data to XML. The following links provide the file converters as well as a step-by-step user guide: 

File Submission

Before a file can be submitted, filers must have a 10-digit tax identification (TID) number with a 3-digit location number. In order to register with the department, email and provide your 13-digit number along with the form type you will be filing. You then will be sent a vendor code, username, and password. 

There are two methods for submitting files. The first method, for files smaller than 2 MB, involves logging in to the following site and attaching your XML file:

The second method is bulk upload. If your file is larger than 2 MB, this is the required method for submission. The following guide provides the information you will need:

Regardless of the submission method, filers must upload successfully two test files without errors prior to submitting production files.

Electronic Payments

If you wish to submit ACH credit payments, refer to the electronic funds transfer (EFT) guide online at

If you wish to make a payment using an electronic check, credit card or debit card, please visit Convenience fees for these options are as follows: 

  • Electronic check - $1.00
  • Credit card - 1.99% of payment plus $1.00
  • Debit card - $2.99 for payments less than $100 or $3.75 for payments greater than or equal to $100 

Contact Us

For more information about cigarette excise taxes, please contact the Indiana Department of Revenue, Special Tax Division: 

For more information about the technical requirements for submitting files, please contact the Indiana Department of Revenue, Information Technology Division: