IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Department of Revenue

MCS Home > Motor Carrier Services > New User - StartPoint > Insurance and Safety Requirements Insurance and Safety Requirements

StartPoint

Insurance Requirements

The insurance requirements for all carriers are as follows:

  • Private and/or for-hire carriers transporting hazardous material = $1,000,000 to $5,000,000.
  • For-hire carriers transporting non-hazardous property in a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 10,001 lbs. or more = $750,000.
  • For-hire carriers transporting non-hazardous property in a vehicle with a GVWR of 10,000 lbs. or less = $300,000.
  • For-hire carriers transporting passengers in a vehicle with a seating capacity of 15 or less = $1,500,000.
  • For-hire carriers transporting passengers in a vehicle with a seating capacity of 16 or more = $5,000,000.

Safety Requirements

When it comes to safety requirements for truck drivers, Indiana has adopted the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations as Indiana law.

A brief reference list for transportation of hazardous materials requirements and safety requirements is also provided on pages 6 and 7 of the Commercial Motor Vehicle Guidebook.

You can visit the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration website at www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/rules-regulations.htm to view a complete list of safety regulations.

 
Back        Key Terms    Next Button