IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Department of Natural Resources

Forestry > Private Forestland Management > District Foresters District Foresters


District foresters Janet Eger and Steve Marling with the state champion Cherrybark Oak in Evansville, Ind.

Indiana has over 4.2 million acres of forestland that grow some of the finest hardwoods in the world. District Foresters, employed by the Indiana Department of Natural Resources' Division of Forestry, are professionally trained to manage forestland for the many resources it can provide. Privately owned forests offer forest products, wildlife habitat, watershed and water quality protection, natural beauty and recreation opportunities. District foresters administer both state and federal programs that provide technical assistance, property tax incentives, and cost-sharing incentives for applying practices that accomplish sustainable management.

A District Forester can help start the management of your forested land by visiting your woods and helping plot the best course of action for meeting your ownership objectives. Many forest owners make management decisions based on limited knowledge. Your District Forester can inform you of your management options and the implications of each option. This will help you make an informed management decision to meet your land use objectives and keep your forest healthy and vigorous.

Click on your county to display name and address of your District Forester, or
Click here for printable list of District Foresters

District 1

Steve Winicker
Jasper-Pulaski State Nursery
15508 W 700 N
Medaryville, IN 47957
219-843-4827
swinicker@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 2

Tim Eizinger
5400 E Salamonie Forest Road
Lagro, IN 46941
(260) 782-0430
teizinger@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 3

Hank Hefner
5400 E Salamonie Forest Road 
Lagro, IN  46941
(260) 782-0430
hhefner@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 4

Allen Royer
14619 W State Road 48
Jasonville, IN 47438
(812) 665-2130
aroyer@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 5

Jeremiah Lemmons
14619 W State Road 48
Jasonville, IN 47438
(812) 665-2130
jlemmons@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 6

Robert McGriff
Selmier State Forest
905 E. County Road 350 N.
North Vernon, IN 47265
(812) 346-2286
rmcgriff@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 7

Janet Eger
14043 Williams Road
Shoals, IN 47581
(812) 247-2479
FAX: (812) 247-2491 (call first)
jeger@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 8

Allison Cline, Acting District Forester
Clark State Forest
P.O. Box 119
Henryville, IN 47126
(812) 294-4306
acline1@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 9

Abby Irwin
Harrison-Crawford State Forest
7240 Old Forest Road SW
Corydon, IN 47112
(812) 738-7694
abirwin@dnr.in.gov
Back to Top

District 10

Carl Hauser
6583 East State Road 264
Ferdinand, IN 47532
(812) 367-1524
chauser@dnr.in.gov
Back to Top

District 11

Adam Dumond
Sugar Ridge F & W Area
2310 E. State Road 364
Winslow, IN 47598
(812) 789-2789
adumond@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 12

Brad Rody
5400 E Salamonie Forest Road
Lagro, IN 46941
(260) 782-0430
brody@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 13

Eric Summerfield
Jasper-Pulaski State Nursery 
15508 W 700 N
Medaryville, IN 47957
(219) 843-4827
esummerfield@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 14

Zack Smith – (Marion, Morgan, Johnson and Brown counties)
Division of Forestry
402 W. Washington St., Rm. W296
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 232-4117
zsmith@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top
Donna Rogler – (Hancock and Shelby counties)
Division of Forestry
402 W. Washington St., Rm W296
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 234-5143
drogler@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 15

Jayson Waterman
498 N.W. 18th Street
Richmond, IN 47374
(765) 935-9415
jwaterman@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 16

Gretchen Herbaugh
Sugar Ridge FWA
2310 E. State Road 364
Winslow, IN 47598
(812) 789-2789
gherbaugh@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 17

Darrell Breedlove
905 E County Road 350 N.
North Vernon, IN 47265
(812) 346-2286
dbreedlove@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 18

Ralph Unversaw
Owen-Putnam State Forest
2153 Fish Creek Road
Spencer, IN   47460
(812) 829-2462
runversaw@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 19

James Potthoff
Jasper-Pulaski State Nursery
15508 W 700 N
Medaryville, IN 47957
219-843-4827
jpotthoff@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top

District 20

Ben McKinney
Jackson-Washington State Forest
1278 East SR 250
Brownstown, IN 47220
(812) 358-2160
bmckinney@dnr.IN.gov
Back to Top