What is the purpose of Indiana's Meth Law?
- It is designed to slow the spread of methamphetamine, an illegal and dangerous drug manufactured from certain products containing ephedrine or pseudoephedrine.
- The law regulates the display and sale of these products to restrict the supply of ephedrine and pseudoephedrine available to meth makers without impeding the legitimate use of these products by residents who suffer from colds or allergies.
What products are affected by Indiana's Meth Law?
All liquid and solid forms of ephedrine and pseudoephedrine.
Where can I obtain a copy of products covered in the law?
A listing of products can be found here.
How will products containing ephedrine and pseudoephedrine be available in my local retail outlet?
- For products sold in convenience packages (small dosage packs containing no more than 120 mg of ephedrine, pseudoephedrine or both) they must be secured in at least one of the following ways:
- The product must be kept within 30 feet of the checkout counter in direct line of sight of the clerk;
- Have anti-theft devices on the packaging;
- Have the product in restricted-access shelving; or
- Install, operate and maintain surveillance from a constant video monitoring device and place a sign by the product indicating that such a device exists.
- Retailers may sell products in non-convenience packages containing more than 120 mg of ephedrine, pseudoephedrine or both if all of the following are met:
- The sale does not exceed more than 3 grams of ephedrine, pseudoephedrine, or both in one transaction; and the sale is not more than 3 grams of ephedrine, pseudoephedrine, or both per customer per week; and
- The product is kept in a locked display case or an area that is not accessible to customers behind the counter; or the medication is kept in the direct line of sight of the pharmacy personnel with a constant video monitoring device so long as the retailer is a pharmacy or a store containing a pharmacy.
What will be required of me when I purchase a product with ephedrine or pseudoephedrine?
- To purchase products in non-convenience packaging you must be at 18 years of age or older; and
- You will be required to show the clerk a state or federal ID card with a photograph. You will be required to enter specific information and sign the Indiana State Police log. The clerk will certify the entry in the log.
What should I do if I suspect methamphetamine activity in my family, neighborhood or school?
You can contact the Indiana State Police Drug T.I.P. line at 1-800-453-4756, or phone your local police or sheriff's department for assistance.
Where can I turn to for drug counseling, treatment or rehabilitation?
The best place to start would be the Division of Mental Health and Addiction with the Family and Social Services Administration. Their telephone number is 1-800-901-1133 or you can visit their web site at http://www.in.gov/fssa/dmha/index.htm and click on the Getting Services link.
Top FAQs: I Want To...