Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
The following is a summary of Indiana's animal health laws governing the transportation of goats into Indiana. The transportation laws may be found at 345 IAC 1-3. For additional information, contact the Indiana State Board of Animal Health Cattle and Ruminant Division at (317) 544-2397 or click here to submit an e-mail inquiry.
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection:
Required. Must be completed by a licensed and accredited veterinarian within the thirty (30) days immediately prior to the animal entering Indiana.
But, a certificate of veterinary inspection is not required for animals that are consigned for immediate slaughter or that are delivered directly to a slaughter establishment. Shipments of slaughter animals must be accompanied by a shipping manifest or bill of lading that documents the movement.
Goats that are infected with or that originate from a flock that is currently infected with scrapie may not enter Indiana unless the animal is delivered directly for immediate slaughter.
Other Requirements: Individual animal identification required.
Official individual animal identification required for sexually intact goats of any age and wethers over 18 months of age. Individual animal identification required for wethers less than 18 months of age.
For additional identification requirements go to: www.in.gov/boah/2649.htm.
For federal requirements refer to Indiana Advisory on Federal ID Program
Exhibition: If the animal is to be entered in a livestock exhibition in Indiana, see also the Indiana Exhibition Requirements.