IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Bureau of Motor Vehicles

myBMV > Motorcycles and Motor Driven Cycles > Motor Driven Cycles Frequently Asked Questions Motor Driven Cycles Frequently Asked Questions

Motor Driven Cycles – Rules of the Road

Beginning January 1, 2015, new laws go into effect regarding the licensing and registration of Motor Driven Cycles, previously referred to as mopeds and motorized bicycles.

What licensing requirements are there to operate a Motor Driven Cycle (MDC)?

  • MDC - Class A: An individual must possess one of the following:
    • Valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement with an MDC - Class A restriction
    • Valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement
    • Valid driver’s license and a valid motorcycle learner’s permit
  • MDC - Class B: Must possess one of the following:
    • Valid driver’s license (no endorsement required)
    • Valid driver’s permit (no endorsement required)
    • Unexpired State of Indiana issued identification card with an MDC - Class B endorsement

Who is eligible to obtain an MDC - Class B Endorsement?

  • Any Indiana resident over 15 years of age.

Who is required to have an MDC - Class B Endorsement?

  • Anyone wishing to operate an MDC - Class B on public streets and roadways who does not possess a valid driver’s license or permit.

What tests does an individual need to complete to obtain an MDC endorsement or restriction?

  • MDC - Class A: An individual must successfully complete the following:
    • The motorcycle knowledge test to obtain a motorcycle learner’s permit
    • The motorcycle skills test on an MDC - Class A
    • The vision screening
  • MDC - Class B: An individual must successfully complete the MDC - Class B written test. (Only necessary if you do not hold a valid Indiana learner’s permit or driver’s license.)

How much will it cost to get an MDC - Class A restriction on a motorcycle endorsement?

Operator Motorcycle Endorsement MDC - Class A Restriction – At least 75 yrs old

$10.50

Operator Motorcycle Endorsement MDC - Class A Restriction – Less than 75 yrs old

$12.00

Chauffeur Motorcycle Endorsement MDC - Class A Restriction – At least 75 yrs old

$10.50

Chauffeur Motorcycle Endorsement MDC - Class A Restriction – Less than 75 yrs old

$12.00

PPC Motorcycle Endorsement MDC - Class A Restriction

$8.50

CDL Motorcycle Endorsement MDC - Class A Restriction

$12.00

How much will it cost to get an MDC - Class B endorsement?

  • If you meet the qualifications for a free voter identification card, there is no charge to place an MDC - Class B endorsement on your identification card. If you do not meet these qualifications, you will be required to pay an amendment fee of $10.50 to add the endorsement to an identification card.

Can I add an MDC - Class B Endorsement to my operator's license?

  • An MDC - Class B endorsement is not necessary when the operator holds a valid learner's permit or driver's license.

I'm not sure if I have an MDC - Class A. How do I find out?

  • An MDC - Class A is defined as a motor vehicle with an engine that produces no more than five-brake horsepower. You need to know the brake horsepower of your MDC before visiting your license branch for registration and licensing purposes. If you do not know the brake horsepower of your MDC, you need to contact the manufacturer.  

What do I need to bring to the license branch when registering my MDC?

  • Motorists with an MDC - Class A need to bring proof of ownership and proof of insurance. Motorists with an MDC - Class B only are required to provide proof of ownership to register. There is no insurance requirement to operate an MDC - Class B. 

Motorcycle and Motor Driven Cycle Classifications