A marina operator may sell a watercraft that has been left without permission at the marina for more than six (6) months may recover the operator's reasonable maintenance, repair, dockage, storage, and other charges if the conditions as outlined in IC 32-34-10 are met.
Upon fulfilling statutory obligations, the owner may complete the Affidavit of Sale– Abandoned Watercraft State Form 50634 to assign ownership to a purchaser without a certificate of title.
When submitting paperwork, include the following:
- Completed and signed Application for Certificate of Watercraft Title – State Form 38529
- Affidavit of Sale or Disposal – Abandoned Watercraft State Form 50634
- Physical Inspection of a Vehicle or Watercraft – State Form 39530. Must be completed by a law enforcement officer.
- Lien release, if necessary. A certified letter to the lien holder may serve as proof of lien release, if applicable.
- Proof of Indiana Residency. Examples include an Indiana driver’s license or ID card, utility bill dated with past sixty (60) days, USPS change of address confirmation, W-2, etc. Visit mybmv.com for a complete list of acceptable documents.
- $15 title application fee and 7% sales tax (if applicable). Payable by credit card (MasterCard or Visa), check, electronic check, or money order. A $20 delinquent fee will be assessed on packets received 31 days after the purchase date listed on State Form 50634. Sales tax is 7% of the purchase price indicated on State Form 50634.
Mail the completed packet to:
Central Office Title Processing
100 North Senate Avenue, Room N411
Indianapolis, IN 46204