An individual, a firm, a limited liability company, or a corporation that performs labor, furnishes materials or storage, or does repair work on a motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, or recreational vehicle has a mechanic's lien on the vehicle for the reasonable value of the charges for the labor, materials, storage, or repairs.
The vehicle may be advertised for sale at public auction if the charges are not satisfied thirty (30) days after the vehicle comes into their possession. The vehicle may not be sold earlier than fifteen (15) days after the date the vehicle is advertised for sale or fifteen (15) days after the owner has been notified of the intent to sell, whichever is greater.
Mechanic’s Lien title applications processed by the Central Office Title Processing Department to improve the security and efficiency of these transactions. Prior to submitting each application verify all required information is included. Call the BMV Contact Center at 888-692-6841 with any questions.
Include the following paperwork to apply for certificate of title:
- Completed and signed Application for Certificate of Title – State Form 44049
- Sales Certificate Mechanic’s/Storage Lien Bill of Sale- State Form 23104
- The owner of the vehicle and lienholders (if applicable) recorded on the certificate of title must be notified at the last known address by certified mail, return receipt requested, that the vehicle will be sold at public auction on a specified date to satisfy the mechanic’s lien. Proof of delivery of certified letter(s) and a copy of the letter must be submitted with this application.
- Certificate from a newspaper of general circulation verifying the vehicle was advertised for sale at public auction. The advertisement must be placed in a newspaper that is printed in English and of general circulation in the city or town in which the mechanic’s lienholder place of business is located. The advertisement must contain at least the following information: (1) A description of the vehicle, including make, type, and VIN; (2) Amount of unpaid charges; (3) Time, place, and date of sale.
- Physical Inspection of a Vehicle – State Form 39530. Must be completed by a law enforcement officer.
- Odometer Disclosure Statement – State Form 43230. All trailers and motor vehicles over 16,000 lbs exempt. Mileage will be branded “Not Actual”.
- Proof of Indiana Residency. Examples include an Indiana driver’s license or ID card, utility bill dated within the past sixty (60) days, USPS change of address confirmation, or W-2. Visit mybmv.com for a complete list of acceptable documents.
- $15 title application fee and 7% sales tax (if applicable). Payable by credit card (MasterCard or Visa), check, electronic check, or money order. A $21.00 delinquent fee will be assessed on packets received 31 days after the purchase date listed on State Form 23104. Sales tax is 7% of the purchase price listed on State Form 23104. If the holder of the mechanic’s lien is applying for ownership, 7% sales tax is assessed on the advertised price.
- Download complete application for Mechanic's Lien packet
If the Bureau of Motor Vehicles determines that sufficient credible evidence exists to substantiate the applicant’s claim of ownership, a title will be issued.
Mail the completed packet to:
Central Office Title Processing
100 North Senate Avenue, Room N411
Indianapolis, IN 46204