Title Requirement for ORV and Snowmobiles
Off-Road Vehicles (ORV)
ORVs purchased after 12/31/2009 must be titled with the BMV. You must apply for a certificate of title within 45 days after the date of purchase or an administrative penalty will be charged.
- A certificate of title is required to be presented as proof of ownership. If a certificate of title cannot be provided, you must submit an Affidavit of Ownership (if you qualify) or obtain a court order prior to applying for a certificate of title.
An ORV purchased before 1/1/2010 is not required to be titled, but may be voluntarily titled upon request of the owner.
- If the ORV is not required to be titled, and you do not have a certificate of title as proof of ownership, you may complete and affirm ownership on an Off-Road Vehicle / Snowmobile Ownership Affidavit – State Form 52827.
If you are a new Indiana resident and your ORV was purchased before 1/1/2010, you must title the ORV within 60 days of becoming an Indiana resident to avoid an administrative penalty.
A snowmobile is not required to be titled, but may be voluntarily titled upon request of the owner.
If a Certificate of Title cannot be provided as proof of ownership, you may complete and affirm ownership on an Off-Road Vehicle / Snowmobile Ownership Affidavit – State Form 52827.
If you purchased an ORV or snowmobile that was voluntarily titled in Indiana by the seller, and the issue date on the certificate of title is after 6/30/2016, the seller must provide you title, and you (purchaser) must either:
- Apply for a new certificate of title prior to applying for a registration; or
- Surrender the former certificate of title to the BMV prior to applying for a registration.