Skip to content

Indiana Department of Transportation

< Back | Agency Home | Submit Events >

Search events. View events.
  Transportation, Indiana Department of Submit Events
Welcome to the IN.gov Calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.
Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search (New Search)
  From:
  To:

 

 

 


Submit
Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
[INDOT] Commuters Urged to Make Room for Snow Plows
Start Date: 1/24/2013Start Time: 12:00 AM
End Date: 1/24/2013End Time: 11:59 PM
Entry Description

Commuters Urged to Make Room for Snow Plows

Temps well below freezing reduce effectiveness of salt

 

INDIANAPOLIS – Winter weather is expected to impact the morning commute this Friday, January 25. Drivers are urged to drive safely and make room for Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT) plow trucks that are clearing snow and ice from state highways.

 

Indiana has experienced temperatures well below freezing over the past few days that reduce the effectiveness of road salt in melting snow and ice. Drivers are reminded to accelerate gradually, drive slowly, brake early and allow greater distance behind the car ahead. INDOT crews will continue to plow and treat state routes, interstates and U.S. highways around the clock until all routes are clear.

 

Drivers are encouraged to allow extra travel time and check road conditions at www.trafficwise.in.gov or by dialing toll-free 800-261-ROAD (7623). For social media updates during winter weather, visit www.socialmedia.indot.in.gov.

 

--30--

MEDIA CONTACTS:

Mary Foster, Northeast Indiana: 260-969-8219 or mafoster@indot.in.gov

Matt Deitchley, Northwest Indiana: 219-325-7526 or mdeitchley@indot.in.gov

Nathan Riggs, Indianapolis: 317-467-3479 or nriggs@indot.in.gov

Harry Maginity, East Central Indiana: 317-467-3949 or hmaginity@indot.in.gov

Debbie Calder, West Central Indiana: 765-361-5236 or dcalder@indot.in.gov

Greg Prince, Southeast Indiana: 812-524-3926 or gprince@indot.in.gov

Cher Elliott, Southwest Indiana: 812-895-7310 or celliott@indot.in.gov

 

Default
Entry Type:
Press Release
Entry Category:
  • Alerts and Notification
  • IN.gov Category:
  • Tourism & Transportation
  • Agency Name
    Transportation, Indiana Department of

    Calendar software powered by Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search








    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search