Skip to content

Indiana Department of Transportation

< Back | Agency Home | Submit Events >

Search events. View events.
  Transportation, Indiana Department of Submit Events
Welcome to the IN.gov Calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.
Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search (New Search)
  From:
  To:

 

 


Submit
Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
[INDOT] Drivers Urged to 'Turn Around, Don’t Drown'
Start Date: 1/14/2013Start Time: 12:00 AM
End Date: 1/14/2013End Time: 11:59 PM
Entry Description

Drivers Urged to “Turn Around, Don’t Drown”

 

INDIANAPOLIS – Widespread rainfall over the weekend combined with melting snow and saturated soils is causing lowland flooding, prompting the National Weather Service to declare a Flood Warning for three dozen Indiana counties.

 

Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT) crews have been deployed to sign and barricade flooded highways and clear debris from drainage facilities. Flood waters can rise and recede rapidly, so motorists are encouraged to plan their travels with INDOT’s TrafficWise Traveler Information Service.  Road closure and severe weather information is available online at www.TrafficWise.IN.gov or by dialing 800-261-ROAD (7623).

 

When encountering a flooded roadway, death and vehicle damage can be prevented by following the simple advice to “Turn Around, Don’t Drown”. According to the National Weather Service, most flash flooding deaths are vehicle related. Six inches of standing water is enough to cause passenger cars to stall and a foot of water will float many vehicles.

 

Driving into flood waters is one of the most dangerous things one can do behind the wheel. Never drive through flooded roadways, especially if the water is moving rapidly, and never drive around the barriers warning you that the road is flooded.

 

County surveyors or city and town public works agencies oversee drainage in their areas, and INDOT coordinates drainage of state highways with these local authorities. INDOT-maintained roadways are required to accept all the runoff they receive. Should flooding be occurring on both sides of a state highway, the obstruction preventing proper drainage is likely further downstream.

 

--30--

 

MEDIA CONTACTS:

Greg Prince, Southeast Indiana: 812-524-3926 or gprince@indot.in.gov

Cher Elliott, Southwest Indiana: 812-895-7310 or celliott@indot.in.gov

Harry Maginity, East Central Indiana: 317-467-3949 or hmaginity@indot.in.gov

Nathan Riggs, Indianapolis: 317-467-3479 or nriggs@indot.in.gov

Debbie Calder, West Central Indiana: 765-361-5236 or dcalder@indot.in.gov

Mary Foster, Northeast Indiana: 260-969-8219 or mafoster@indot.in.gov

Matt Deitchley, Northwest Indiana: 219-325-7526 or mdeitchley@indot.in.gov

Default
Entry Type:
Press Release
Entry Category:
  • Alerts and Notification
  • IN.gov Category:
  • Tourism & Transportation
  • Agency Name
    Transportation, Indiana Department of

    Calendar software powered by Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search








    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search