New Laws Affecting You July 1
There were 292 laws enacted last session with the Senate and House each passing 146 bills. Of these bills, some are effective upon passage, but most are implemented on July 1. The delayed start to new laws allows state and local agencies enough time to prepare and properly apply legislative changes. It also gives the press and the general public more time to understand how the new laws will affect them.
Here’s a list of the some of the bills that will go into effect on July 1:
HEA 1004 – Establishes the Early Education Evaluation Program, which requires the Division of Family Resources to work in conjunction with the Department of Education to gather data concerning school readiness of low-income children who receive early education services from Level 3 and 4 Paths to QUALITY providers. In the state’s budget, $2 million per year has been allocated for an early education matching grant program for low-income families.
HEA 1005 – Provides an avenue for struggling students to take remediation courses to be better prepared for higher education and the workforce. If a student is not progressing toward fulfillment of their graduation plan due to not achieving a passing score on the graduation examination, the school counselor shall meet with the student, the student's parent and the student's teacher in the subject matter the student didn’t pass to discuss available remediation and to plan to meet the requirements necessary for a graduation waiver.
HEA 1093 – Requires a court to order a person to make restitution upon being convicted of striking, tormenting, injuring or otherwise mistreating a law enforcement animal; or interfering with the actions of a law enforcement animal while the animal is engaged in assisting a law enforcement officer. The cost to train a police dog is between $8000 and $10,000.
HEA 1151 – Creates the Blue Alert program to notify the public when a law enforcement officer is killed, seriously injured or missing in the line of duty.
HEA 1170 – Expands the Training 2000 Program, which will now provide incentives and assistance to new or expanding businesses for the training or retraining of incumbent employees, in addition to curbing the costs for Hoosier businesses to retrain and upgrade employee skills required to support existing capital investment. This will help address the skills gap affecting the Hoosier workforce and retain talent.
HEA 1341 – Establishes the Indiana electronic transcript program, which provides that, beginning July 1, 2015, the program will allow all students at all accredited high schools to request that their transcripts be transmitted electronically to state educational institutions, participating Indiana not-for-profit or privately endowed institutions, and participating Indiana institutions authorized by the Board for Proprietary Education. This new law will bring consistency to the process of applying to Indiana colleges and will make the application process easier for Hoosier students.
HEA 1482 – Allows certain non-sexual and non-violent crimes to be expunged from Hoosiers’ criminal records. A record may only be expunged one time, and a petition to expunge a conviction may be filed no earlier than:
- 1 year after an arrest that was not prosecuted or if a conviction was overturned on appeal.
- 5 years from the date of conviction of a misdemeanor.
- 8 to 10 years from the date of conviction of felonies.
SEA 162 – Provides that an incentive agreement between the Indiana Economic Development Corporation (IEDC) and an incentive recipient is available for inspection after the date the agreement is executed, regardless of whether negotiations may be in progress with that recipient. This increases accountability for the IEDC and the companies seeking incentives, providing taxpayers with a clearer picture of how their tax dollars are being invested.
SEA 177 – Provides that qualified veterans are eligible for the resident tuition rate for undergraduate courses upon enrolling in a state educational institution no later than 12 months after discharge or separation from the United States armed forces or Indiana National Guard. This new law will help attract veterans to work and go to school in Indiana. This is a population that often has difficulty finding work when they return from service, and the General Assembly wanted to support them and recognize their service to our country.
SEA 387 – Increases from $50 to $100 the minimum civil judgment imposed for certain infractions involving parking a motor vehicle in a space reserved for a person with a physical disability or a disabled veteran.
SEA 421 – Requires the State School Bus Committee to adopt and enforce rules to require that, at least once a semester, a school bus driver operating a school bus equipped with safety belts provide instruction to the passengers on the school bus on the proper fastening of the safety belt and conduct a passenger evacuation drill.
I encourage everyone to visit www.in.gov/legislative to look up more bills that will be going into effect or www.in.gov/house_republicans for more information.
My guest column also appears in the Times of Noblesville.